Alonso is sixth driver to score three wins at home

2013 Spanish Grand Prix stats and facts

Fernando Alonso, Ferrari, Circuit de Catalunya, Barcelona, 2013Fernando Alonso’s Spanish Grand Prix win was his third victory on home ground.

He previously won the 2006 Spanish Grand Prix at the same track and the 2012 European Grand Prix in Valencia.

Only five drivers have scored more home victories than Alonso has. Here’s a complete list of the 43 drivers who won a round of the world championship at home:

Driver Country Home wins
Michael Schumacher Germany 9
Alain Prost France 6
Nigel Mansell Great Britain 5
Jim Clark Great Britain 5
Juan Manuel Fangio Argentina 4
Fernando Alonso Spain 3
Ayrton Senna Brazil 2
Jackie Stewart Great Britain 2
Nelson Piquet Brazil 2
Stirling Moss Great Britain 2
Emerson Fittipaldi Brazil 2
Alberto Ascari Italian 2
David Coulthard Great Britain 2
Felipe Massa Brazil 2
Ralf Schumacher Germany 2
Bill Vukovich United States 2
Niki Lauda Austria 1
Damon Hill Great Britain 1
Lewis Hamilton Great Britain 1
Mario Andretti United States 1
James Hunt Great Britain 1
Jody Scheckter South Africa 1
Rene Arnoux France 1
Tony Brooks Great Britain 1
Gilles Villeneuve Canada 1
Riccardo Patrese Italy 1
Giuseppe Farina Italy 1
John Watson Great Britain 1
Peter Collins Great Britain 1
Johnny Herbert Great Britain 1
Jean-Pierre Jabouille France 1
Rodger Ward United States 1
Jim Rathmann United States 1
Ludovico Scarfiotti Italy 1
Elio de Angelis Italy 1
Johnnie Parsons United States 1
Lee Wallard United States 1
Troy Ruttman United States 1
Bob Sweikert United States 1
Pat Flaherty United States 1
San Hanks United States 1
Jimmy Bryan United States 1
Carlos Pace Brazil 1

Of the other drivers on the grid today Sebastian Vettel, Jenson Button, Mark Webber, Nico Rosberg and Pastor Maldonado have all won races but not at home.

Vettel and Button are also among the group of world champions who have never won their home races. They include Mika Hakkinen, Kimi Raikkonen, Graham Hill, Jack Brabham, Alan Jones, Jacques Villeneuve, John Surtees, Jochen Rindt and Keke Rosberg. Some of those – notably the three Finnish champions – never had a home race to win.

Britain has had the most home race winners. The United States is next with 12, though 11 of those came when the Indianapolis 500 counted towards the world championship from 1950 to 1960:

Country Home race wins
Great Britain 23
United States 12
Germany 11
Brazil 9
France 8
Italy 6
Argentina 4
Spain 3
Austria 1
South Africa 1
Canada 1

Alonso also became the first driver to win the Spanish Grand Prix without starting on the front row since Schumacher in the rain-hit 1996 race.

Alonso scored his 32nd career win in yesterday’s race. This means he has scored more F1 victories than any driver bar Schumacher, Alain Prost and Ayrton Senna. See here for more:

Nico Rosberg scored the third pole position of his career. That gives him as many as Jose Froilan Gonzalez, Tony Brooks, Dan Gurney, Jean-Pierre Jarier, Jody Scheckter, Elio de Angelis and Teo Fabi. It was also the sixth time Mercedes occupied the first two places on the grid.

Esteban Gutierrez, Sauber, Circuit de Catalunya, Barcelona, 2013Esteban Gutierrez led a race for the first time in his career. He is the third Mexican driver to do so, joining Pedro Rodriguez and Sergio Perez.

He is the 12th different driver to lead a lap this year. There were 13 different leaders during the whole of last season.

Gutierrez also went on to set fastest lap for the first time in his career. He is the 125th different driver to do so and, again, Rodriguez and Perez the only other Mexican drivers to have done so.

The only other driver to have set fastest lap in an F1 race without having scored a point is Brian Henton, who set the fastest lap in the 1982 British Grand Prix for Tyrrell at Brands Hatch. Henton finished the race eighth but points were only awarded to the top six.

Kimi Raikkonen finished in the points for the 22nd race in a row, which puts him within striking range of the all-time record.

The record for most consecutive points finishes stands at 24. It was set by Michael Schumacher between the 2001 Hungarian and 2003 Malaysian Grands Prix. For most of this time points were only awarded to the top six.

Last year Fernando Alonso’s run of 23 consecutive points finishes ended when he was eliminated in a first-corner crash at the Belgian Grand Prix.

McLaren also extended their streak of points-scoring results to 63, which is already a record.

Lewis Hamilton and Romain Grosjean failed to score for the first time this year, leaving Vettel and Raikkonen as the only drivers to have scored in every race.

The little-used punishment of a ten second stop-go penalty was handed down to Nico Hulkenberg during the race. It was only used twice last season.

Review the year so far in statistics here:

Spotted any other interesting stats and facts from the Spanish Grand Prix? Share them in the comments.

2013 Spanish Grand Prix

Browse all 2013 Spanish Grand Prix articles

Images ?? Ferrari/Ercole Colombo, Sauber

Advert | Go Ad-free


75 comments on Alonso is sixth driver to score three wins at home

  1. Max Jacobson (@vettel1) said on 13th May 2013, 16:43

    He is the 12th different driver to lead a lap this year. There were 13 different leaders during the whole of last season.

    That’s a pretty frightening statistic I think.

  2. paulgilb (@paulgilb) said on 13th May 2013, 17:32

    Alonso has had 32 wins and 32 second places in his career.

    First circuit at which Alonso has scored more than 100 points (obviously this is skewed by the points system change in 2010).

    The 3 podium finishers are the 3 most recent drivers to have won the Spanish GP for Ferrari.

    Massa has now had 11 wins, 12 2nd places, 13 3rd places, and 14 4th places.

  3. jre_f1 (@jre_f1) said on 13th May 2013, 22:04

    The article says Damon Hill didn’t win his home race. He did in 1994!

  4. wsrgo (@wsrgo) said on 14th May 2013, 5:56

    A few year, none courtesy me, and all courtesy
    1. Felipe Massa has finished first 11 times, second 12 times, third 13 times, and fourth 14 times.
    2. Fernando Alonso now has 32 wins and 32 second places.

  5. the_sigman (@sigman1998) said on 14th May 2013, 7:44

    Ι think that Alonso and Schumacher are the only drivers to have won their home GP, in 3 different layouts. The final chicane was missing in 2006.

  6. paulgilb (@paulgilb) said on 14th May 2013, 18:24

    19th consecutive season in which a Ferrari-powered car has managed a fastest lap – extends the record.
    First race since India 2012 in which no British driver led.
    Alonso has had 60 races since his last mechanical DNF (Malaysia 2010).
    Last team to lock-out the front row and not manage a podium – Red Bull in Korea 2010 (they also managed it in Australia and China that year).
    Gutierrez is the second-youngest fastest lap setter (after Rosberg).
    Alonso has never managed 4 consecutive top 3 starts since joining Ferrari.

    (thanks to for some of these)

Add your comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

All comments must abide by the comment policy. Comments may be moderated.
Want to post off-topic? Head to the forum.
See the FAQ for more information.