Sebastian Vettel, Red Bull, Nurburgring, 2013

Vettel closes on clean sweep after first home win

2013 German Grand Prix stats and factsPosted on | Author Keith Collantine

Sebastian Vettel, Red Bull, Nurburgring, 2013Sebastian Vettel, who turned 26 last week, has achieved an awful lot in his F1 career to date.

Before his latest triumph he was already a three-times world champion with the third-highest number of pole positions and the sixth-largest haul of victories.

But there was one especially prized accomplishment left for him to claim: a victory in his home race. On Sunday he finally achieved it, scoring his 30th grand prix victory on home ground at the Nurburgring.

Of Germany’s two F1 tracks, the Nurburgring is the farthest from Vettel’s home town of Heppenheim which lies 200km to the south-east. He only gets to compete at the Hockenheimring, 40km south of Heppenheim, every other year.

There are 43 other drivers who have scored victories on home ground including Fernando Alonso (three including one European Grand Prix), Felipe Massa (two) and Lewis Hamilton (one).

As there are no Hungarian, Belgian, Italian, Singaporean, South Korean, Japanese, Indian, Emirati or American drivers in F1, there won’t be another chance of a home winner until Massa arrives at Interlagos for the last race of the season.

Vettel has now won every Grand Prix on the calendar at least once with the exception of the next round, the Hungarian Grand Prix, and the United States Grand Prix which he has only started twice. Here’s how F1′s other current drivers who have won ten or more races compare, plus Michael Schumacher’s record for reference.

# Race Vettel Alonso Hamilton Raikkonen Button Massa Schumacher
1 Australian Grand Prix 1 1 1 2 3 4
2 Malaysian Grand Prix 3 3 2 1 3
3 Chinese Grand Prix 1 2 2 1 1 1
4 Bahrain Grand Prix 2 3 1 2 1
5 Spanish Grand Prix 1 2 2 1 1 6
6 Monaco Grand Prix 1 2 1 1 1 5
7 Canadian Grand Prix 1 1 3 1 1 7
8 British Grand Prix 1 2 1 1 3
9 German Grand Prix 1 3 2 4
10 Hungarian Grand Prix 1 3 1 2 4
11 Belgian Grand Prix 1 1 4 1 1 6
12 Italian Grand Prix 2 2 1 5
13 Singapore Grand Prix 2 2 1
14 Korean Grand Prix 2 1
15 Japanese Grand Prix 3 2 1 1 1 6
16 Indian Grand Prix 2
17 Abu Dhabi Grand Prix 2 1 1
18 United States Grand Prix 2 5
19 Brazilian Grand Prix 1 1 1 2 4

It took Vettel 110 starts to rack up 30 wins. Only Michael Schumacher got there more quickly – it took him 109 starts. Ayrton Senna took 114, Alain Prost 124, Nigel Mansell 179 and Alonso 186.

In the all-time winners list, Vettel needs one more to catch Mansell and is two behind Alonso. Vettel also matched Hamilton’s podiums tally of 52.

Lewis Hamilton, Mercedes, Nurburgring, 2013Hamilton started from the 29th pole position of his career. That moves him up to seventh on the all-time list, tied with Juan Manuel Fangio.

Hamilton’s pole position time of 1’29.398 was the fastest seen at the current version of the Nurburgring since 2004, when Takuma Sato lapped in 1’27.691.

It was the 15th pole position for Mercedes, meaning they now have as many as Benetton. Seven other teams have scored more pole positions and Mercedes need another 24 to catch the next one: Brabham.

Despite starting from pole Hamilton did not spend a single lap in the lead or second place. It was the first time since the Indian Grand Prix 11 races ago that no Mercedes-engined car led a lap.

Three different drivers have been on pole so far this year – Vettel, Rosberg and Hamilton – and each have done so three times.

Hamilton has not converted any of them into wins, while Nico Rosberg has won twice for Mercedes. But Hamilton leads his team mate by other measures: he’s scored more points, qualified and finished ahead more times and spent 245 laps in front of his team mate compared to Rosberg’s 240.

The race’s fastest lap went to Alonso – the 20th of his career, putting him 11th on the all-time list. One more will move him into the top ten.

Romain Grosjean, Lotus, Nurburgring, 2013Romain Grosjean led a race for this first time this year, becoming the 13th different driver to do so, matching last year’s tally. The last season which saw more lap leaders was 2008, when there were 15.

Later on in the race Grosjean was instructed to let team mate Kimi Raikkonen past so the other Lotus could chase down Vettel. They finished in that order, thereby replicating the events and outcome of last year’s Bahrain Grand Prix.

The drivers who are yet to lead a lap this year are those from Williams, Toro Rosso, Caterham and Marussias – and McLaren’s Sergio Perez.

Vettel has now led more than twice as many laps as any other driver this year with 230. Nico Rosberg is next with 104.

The unlucky Jean-Eric Vergne posted his fourth retirement due to technical problems of the season so far – two more than any other drivers has had. He has completed the least racing laps so far this year: 442 out of a possible 553.

Finally, Raikkonen extended his record streak of points finishes to 26 consecutive starts and counting.

Review the year so far in statistics here:

Spotted any other interesting stats and facts from the German Grand Prix? Share them in the comments.

2013 German Grand Prix

Browse all 2013 German Grand Prix articles
Image © Red Bull/Getty, Mercedes/Hoch Zwei, Lotus/LAT