Grosjean given 20-second penalty but keeps sixth

2013 Hungarian Grand Prix

Romain Grosjean, Lotus, Hungaroring, 2013Romain Grosjean has been handed a 20-second time penalty for his collision with Jenson Button during the Hungarian Grand Prix.

Grosjean collided with Button at turn six while overtaking the McLaren driver on the inside.

He finished the race in sixth place, 21.5 seconds ahead of seventh-placed Button, so the penalty has no effect on his finishing position.

The stewards noted: “The driver of car eight [Grosjean] admitted that he thought he had fully passed car five [Button] when he obviously had not.”

“He proceeded to move over to the left to rejoin the racing line whilst car five was still alongside.”

Grosjean accepted responsibility for the incident: “With Jenson I was a bit too much on the left. I think the track goes narrow and I think it was wider than that. I want to apologise and we’re fortunate that none of us got anything so that was good.”

Button said: “I think it’s pretty straightforward. I couldn’t go any more left. That’s it really.”

“Unless I’m on the grass, which is obviously not a place I want to me when I’m breaking for a corner, he had no way of not hitting me. He obviously didn’t realise how narrow the circuit is at that corner.”

2013 Hungarian Grand Prix

Browse all 2013 Hungarian Grand Prix articles

Image ?? Lotus/LAT

Advert | Go Ad-free

48 comments on Grosjean given 20-second penalty but keeps sixth

  1. Milos Zivkovic (@iamaflyingfinn) said on 28th July 2013, 20:04

    I really do not understand this penalty even if it didn’t affect the finishing order. Alonso drove over the top of Raikkonen’s front wing in Japan last year, and what happened then? Both were arguably at fault for that incident, and the story remains the same here. Grosjean didn’t see him, but Button could have braked earlier as well.

  2. Milos Zivkovic (@iamaflyingfinn) said on 28th July 2013, 20:06

    I really do not understand this penalty even if it didn’t affect the finishing order. Alonso drove over the top of Raikkonen’s front wing in Japan last year, and what happened then? No one received a penalty because it ultimately was a racing incident. Both were arguably at fault for that incident, and the story remains the same here. Grosjean didn’t see him, but Button could have braked earlier as well. Talk about consistency in dealing penalties.

  3. DaveW (@dmw) said on 28th July 2013, 22:33

    Grosjeans error was in principle the same as the one that earned him a suspension. He kept moving over oblivioous to the vector of the other car. He somehow cannot learn the track or grasp all relevant details of the situation. I think he suffers from hypervigilance. He is not stupid. Hes just under so much pressure he cant focus. Just like with Hamilton in 2011. He has to learn to get his head back in it.

  4. David L said on 29th July 2013, 14:52

    I have stopped “getting my knickers in a knot” over these various racing infringements, as i know that whatever he does Herr Finger will not be penalised.

Add your comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

All comments must abide by the comment policy. Comments may be moderated.
Want to post off-topic? Head to the forum.
See the FAQ for more information.