No penalty for Alonso for DRS misuse

2013 Hungarian Grand Prix

Fernando Alonso, Ferrari, Hungaroring, 2013Fernando Alonso has escaped punishment for using DRS when he wasn’t supposed to during the Hungarian Grand Prix.

The stewards found the Ferrari driver activated DRS on three occasions when he was not within a second of another car.

Ferrari were fined ??15,000 (??12,945) for the infringement.

The stewards ruled: “The DRS enabling system was not changed by the team from the pre-race to the race setting. The driver therefore incorrectly received ‘DRS enabled’ messages and reacted to them (when not entitled to) on three occasions.

“As soon as the team became aware of the problem they informed the driver to only use DRS when told to do so by the team.

“Whilst a small sporting advantage (less than one second over the entire race) was gained, the team argued car three [Alonso] also suffered a disadvantage by being unable to use DRS on every legitimate occasion.

“However, the team is ultimately responsible for ensuring the system conforms to the regulations.”

2013 Hungarian Grand Prix

Browse all 2013 Hungarian Grand Prix articles

Image ?? Ferrari/Ercole Colombo

Advert | Go Ad-free

48 comments on No penalty for Alonso for DRS misuse

  1. JackySteeg (@jackysteeg) said on 28th July 2013, 21:56

    I’d be very interested to know when these three occasions were and whether Fernando should’ve known not to use it.

    It’d be curious if he was miles away from any other car because surely he would’ve known that something was amiss. But then if he were, say, 1.2s behind the car ahead I could understand his error. Still, it would be interesting to find out.

  2. Hairs (@hairs) said on 28th July 2013, 23:21

    The stewards’ explanation is actually quite detailed, and they seem to have investigated cause and effect here. It’s a balanced judgement for this particular incident.

    As others have pointed out, whether the FIA should start looking into Ferrari’s repeated DRS failures and accidental activations to see how accidental they actually are is another matter. Probably outside the remit of the weekend stewards however.

  3. foleyger (@foleyger) said on 28th July 2013, 23:22

    no fine or anything. F.I.A = a joke

  4. Michael Brown (@) said on 29th July 2013, 1:55

    Alonso gains a second over the race using DRS when it’s not allowed. A tiny advantage, but an advantage nonetheless.

    Grosjean barely puts all four wheels over the track boundary for a short distance, and is penalized.

    This bugs me.

  5. U2F1 (@u2f1) said on 29th July 2013, 3:06

    I saw Jenson’s DRS wing active on the main straight at least on one ocassion where there was no car ahead of him nor had someone dived into the pits preceding the main straight ..

    DRS still has some ambiguity over it .. not sure how the FIA has been monitoring the same all through

  6. Bruno (@brunes) said on 29th July 2013, 5:00

    if it was Grojean it would have been a 20 sec penalty plus the fine.

    These guys a so inconsistent I have to blame Maldonado for the DRS problem.

  7. Bigasshammm said on 29th July 2013, 14:01

    It’s interesting that this always happens to Alonso. Wouldn’t if it was a setting thing they would have forgotten to do Massa’s as well? I totally believe they are fudging the rules to try to boost Alonso’s position and they keep getting caught but never face a penalty. Shows who’s in charge of F1.

  8. jasonpoly said on 29th July 2013, 19:38

    What was it Ferrari said after the Mercedes tyre test hearing? Well everyone might was well just use DRS every lap after this ruling… Mistake or not, seems like this was a clear breach of the rules and should have resulted in a 20s penalty applied at the end of the race, or a drive through during the race.

Add your comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

All comments must abide by the comment policy. Comments may be moderated.
Want to post off-topic? Head to the forum.
See the FAQ for more information.