Vettel matches Ascari and Schumacher with ninth win

2013 Brazilian Grand Prix stats and facts

Sebastian Vettel, Red Bull, Interlagos, 2013Sebastian Vettel extended his winning streak in the Brazilian Grand Prix and has now won nine consecutive races in a row. That ties the all-time record with Alberto Ascari, though Vettel distanced himself from comparisons with Ascari’s achievement.

As noted here previously, Ascari set the record in consecutive races he entered but not consecutive rounds of the championship, as he skipped the 1953 Indianapolis 500 (as most grand prix drivers did at the time). he set the record in 1952 and 1953, when the world championship was run to F2 rules.

Of course there were far fewer races per season then than today. When Ascari won his ninth race in a row, at Spa in 1953, he was one day short of the first anniversary of the beginning of his streak at the same race in 1952.

However Vettel’s nine race wins were compressed into 91 days – exactly one-quarter the duration of Ascari’s unbeaten streak. However by the time the next season starts it will have increased to 203.

Vettel also scored his 13th win of the season, equalling Michael Schumacher’s record for the most wins in a year. Schumacher won 13 races out of 18 in 2004 whereas Vettel had 19 races to do the same.

He now has 39 grand prix victories to his name, two fewer than Ayrton Senna, and 45 pole positions – that’s 20 fewer than Senna achieved. It was also the 12th time he led every lap of a grand prix – he crossed the start/finish line two hundredths of a second ahead of Nico Rosberg on lap one.

Vettel also finished on the podium for the 11th race in a row, equalling his personal best streak. The record is 19, set by Schumacher from 2001 to 2002.

He ended the season with 397 points, the most ever recorded by a driver, five more than he managed in 2011. Of course the changes to the points system and varying length of F1 seasons means points totals like this are not useful for comparisons between drivers.

Farewell to Webber, Cosworth V8s

Mark Webber, Red Bull, Interlagos, 2013The only achievement Vettel missed during the race was fastest lap, which went to team mate Mark Webber. It was the 19th of his career, giving him as many as Senna, Stirling Moss and Damon Hill.

At the end of his career Webber had started 215 races, the most ever by an Australian driver, and won nine of them. He also had 42 podium finishes and 13 pole positions. He equalled his highest position in the world championship with year with third which he also achieved in 2010 and 2011.

Renault scored the final win of the V8 engine era, and by doing so continued a minor tradition. They also won the last race for 3.0-litre V10 engines (the 2005 Chinese Grand Prix, won by Fernando Alonso for Renault) and the last race for 3.5-litre engines (the 1994 Australian Grand Prix, won by Nigel Mansell in a Williams-Renault).

A Renault engine also scored points for the 100th race in a row. However this is some way short of the record – Ford-Cosworth engines scored in 228 consecutive races from 1967 to 1983. Sunday’s race was the last for a Cosworth engine for the foreseeable future.

Lotus’s 38-race run in the points, which began at the first race of last year, came to an end.

Alonso still missing Brazil win

Alonso took his eighth podium finish in the Brazilian Grand Prix but remains yet to win this race. That gives him the rather undesirable record of taking the most podium finished in the same race without winning it.

This was also the first time Alonso has gone an entire season without starting a race from the front row since his debut campaign for Minardi in 2001.

McLaren had their best result of the year in Brazil thanks to Jenson Button’s fourth place. But they were unable to claim a podium before the end of the season, something they haven’t failed to do since 1980, the last year before Ron Dennis took charge of the team.

There was some cheer for McLaren, however. They became the first team in F1 history to have both their cars classified in every race and covered 11,488km out of a possible 11,584km during the races – 99.17%.

Max Chilton, Marussia, Interlagos, 2013In a similar vein Max Chilton celebrated finishing all 19 races in his debut season, something which has never been done before.

Sergio Perez climbed 13 places to finish sixth in Brazil, the second-highest position improvement seen so far this year. The best was Romain Grosjean’s gain of 14 places in India. Paul di Resta also made up 13 places at the British Grand Prix.

Button also became the most experienced British driver of all time, starting his 247th grand prix, giving him one more than David Coulthard. Button has been present at 249 races but did not start the 2003 Monaco Grand Prix due to injury and the 2005 United States Grand Prix due to the withdrawal of Michelin runners on the first lap.

Review the year so far in statistics here:

Have you spotted any other interesting stats and facts from the Brazilian Grand Prix? Share them in the comments.

2013 Brazilian Grand Prix

Browse all 2013 Brazilian Grand Prix articles

Images ?? Red Bull/Getty, Marussia

Advert | Go Ad-free


72 comments on Vettel matches Ascari and Schumacher with ninth win

  1. Kevin (@illustrious) said on 26th November 2013, 0:49

    The first time since 1992 that all of the podium places are taken by the top 4 constructors in a single season.

  2. Andrew81 (@andrew81) said on 26th November 2013, 9:54

    Car numbers 1, 2 and 3 finished 1st, 2nd and 3rd in order for the first time since Spain 1999.

  3. Jelle van der Meer (@jelle-van-der-meer) said on 26th November 2013, 10:07

    The current streak of races without a new Grand Prix winner is the 5th longest in history. It will be the longest streak if there is no new winner by the Russian GP (15th race of new calendar)
    Next year most likely new winners could be Romain Grosjean, Daniel Ricciardo, Nico Hulkenberg or Kevin Magnussen all the other drivers in top 5 teams have already won a race before.

    48 Germany 2009 Mark Webber China 2012 Nico Rosberg
    44 Japan 1989 Alessandro Nannini Belgium 1992 Michael Schumacher
    43 Monaco 2004 Jarno Trulli Hungary 2006 Jenson Button
    36 Mexico 1986 Gerhard Berger Canada 1989 Thierry Boutsen
    34 Spain 2012 Pastor Maldonado
    32 United States 1982 Michele Alboreto Portugal 1985 Ayrton Senna

  4. A new record for Seb Vettel no one seems to have noticed: Now he is in the top three of points (equalised, i.e. modern)/race. It had not changed since the fifties, with the first 3 WDC winners on top
    Juan Manuel Fangio is first with 17.12
    Alberto Ascari is second with 13.94
    Nino Farina was third with 13.55

    But now Seb has 13. 72, outscoring Farina, and Ascari seems reachable, it will be quite difficult for him to outscore the great Fangio, however.

    I am not counting Lee Wallard, with 33 modern points (one win, one 6th) in only 2 races: 16.5/race started, but both were Indy 500. Counting him, Seb still has to outscore Ascari to get in the top 3.

    • For the record, Seb already outscored Nino after the previous race (winning at Austin he went from 13.53 to 13.62) but I didn’t notice it then.

  5. French Steve (@french-steve) said on 26th November 2013, 14:23

    Amazing stats. Thank you all.

Add your comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

All comments must abide by the comment policy. Comments may be moderated.
Want to post off-topic? Head to the forum.
See the FAQ for more information.