Tyre, Jerez, 2014

Pirelli confirm in-season test schedule

2014 F1 seasonPosted on | Author Keith Collantine

Tyre, Jerez, 2014Pirelli and the Formula One teams have agreed which days will be given over to testing new tyre developments during the season.

A plan for teams to assist F1’s official tyre supplier with testing during the season was reached following the row last year over Mercedes and Ferrari conducting private tests for Pirelli.

The tyre testing will take place within the existing in-season tests. Each team will devote one of its two days at one of the tests to conducting tyre development work for Pirelli:

Date Track Pirelli test teams
8th April Bahrian International Circuit Caterham
9th April Bahrian International Circuit Mercedes and Williams
13th May Circuit de Catalunya Sauber and Toro Rosso
14th May Circuit de Catalunya McLaren and Force India
8th July Silverstone Ferrari and Lotus
9th July Silverstone Red Bull and Marussia
25th November Yas Marina
26th November Yas Marina

The tyres each team will use during its nominated Pirelli tyre test days will not form part of the 135 sets which they are given for testing purposes each year under the rules.

At the final in-season test in Abu Dhabi all teams will be given prototype 2015 tyres for testing.

Get all the 2014 race weekend times and in-season test dates on your mobile device using the F1 Fanatic Calendar

2014 F1 season

Browse all 2014 F1 season articles

Image © Pirelli/LAT