Ricciardo gets ten-place grid drop

2014 Malaysian Grand Prix

Daniel Ricciardo, Red Bull, Sepang International Circuit, 2014Daniel Ricciardo will be moved back ten places on the grid for the Bahrain Grand Prix.

The team were given the penalty after Ricciardo was released from his pit box with the front-left wheel not attached properly.

Ricciardo was also given a ten second stop and go penalty during the race, which he did not finish.

Red Bull were also handed a reprimand by the stewards as a member of their team did not wear protective headgear during Ricciardo’s stop.

2014 Malaysian Grand Prix

Browse all 2014 Malaysian Grand Prix articles

Image © Red Bull/Getty

Advert | Go Ad-free

159 comments on Ricciardo gets ten-place grid drop

1 2 3 4
  1. DaveF1 (@davef1) said on 30th March 2014, 12:10

    Ouch, that Webber luck.

  2. William (@william) said on 30th March 2014, 12:10

    Ouch

  3. marcus hand (@wombat1m) said on 30th March 2014, 12:14

    Seems rather harsh, surely it should be an in race penalty, which was already given, or a grid drop next race, but not both, and do wonder if they’d have done the same for SV…..

    • Sam (@) said on 30th March 2014, 12:21

      @wombat1m What does that have to do with anything? It’s just foolish to think stewards would treat Vettel better for any reason whatsoever.

    • Quant said on 30th March 2014, 12:24

      Ok, so according to autosport it’s a standard part of the rules for this season. Seems a harsh rule, but straightforward application of the rules nonetheless.

    • BasCB (@bascb) said on 30th March 2014, 13:00

      It was an in race penalty they did not take because they retired him. Had they first taken the penalty an THEN retired him, he would be fine

      • Andre (@lheela) said on 30th March 2014, 13:38

        No he wouldn’t be fine:
        Sporting Regulations:
        23.12 If a car is deemed to have been released in an unsafe condition during a race the driver concerned will receive a ten grid place penalty at the driver’s next Event. However, if any car released in an unsafe condition is able to resume the race a penalty under Article 16.3(c) will also be imposed on the driver concerned.

    • JerseyF1 (@jerseyf1) said on 30th March 2014, 21:00

      @vettel1 If you read the original comment from @wombat1m you will see that he did not make an audacious accusation. He made a statement, which was that he wonders if they would have done the same for SV. I also wonder that and whether Alonso would have suffered the same fate (which I think very unlikely).

      If something similar happens again this season we shall see whether they are consistent in what I agree is a rather draconian penalty for Ricciardo given that he was promptly stopped before rejoining the track and the problem fixed.

      • JerseyF1 (@jerseyf1) said on 30th March 2014, 21:02

        Just seen sporting reg 23.12 reference below. Still seems harsh but if that’s what the rules now say then it’s got to be done (for one and all).

  4. Magnificent Geoffrey (@magnificent-geoffrey) said on 30th March 2014, 12:14

    Ouch indeed. Very harsh.

    To hit them with this on top of a 10-second Stop-and-Go during the race and after the team stopped Ricciardo in the pits and recovered him as safely as they could after they realised the problem? Kind of feels excessive to me.

    • Chris (@tophercheese21) said on 30th March 2014, 12:36

      +1

    • GeeMac (@geemac) said on 30th March 2014, 12:37

      Have to agree Magnificent one. The stewards in Malaysia have been particularly harsh this weekend.

    • matt90 (@matt90) said on 30th March 2014, 12:50

      Punishing a driver in the current and following race is wrong, unless they’ve done something ban-worthy. I’d rather see a harsher penalty in the current race than split it across 2. This feels deeply unfair rather than just excessive.

      • Nick (@nick-uk) said on 30th March 2014, 13:52

        @matt90

        Bear in mind that an unsafe release that means they lose a minute in the pits and get lapped, is race ruining in itself but is not a penalty. They still need to be penalised for the rule breach. If you take a penalty after already being in last by your own fault, is that still a penalty? Afterall it makes no difference. In such a situation a team can only be effectively be penalised by ‘punishing’ them at the next event where the penalty actually can serve its purpose properly. It’s harsh, yes – but then what is a penalty if it’s not something you take a think, “Gah, we must make sure that never happens again!” A penalty that does not make a team/driver feel like that is an ineffective penalty in my view.

        • George (@george) said on 30th March 2014, 14:01

          @nick-uk I’m pretty sure losing a whole lap is a good enough penalty to make them not want to repeat it.

          • Nick (@nick-uk) said on 30th March 2014, 14:57

            @george You’re not seeing the point. The penalty itself has to be separate from the effect of a self inflicted mistake. It’s nothing to do with the FIA that it took Red Bull 1-2 minutes to complete their pit stop, what does concern the FIA is that they released the car unsafely.

            I agree with you that it’s harsh, but it’s a deserved penalty.

          • Breno (@austus) said on 30th March 2014, 23:48

            Why dont you tell that to the guy who got hit by a wheel at 80 km/h last year?

      • zenman1 (@zenman1) said on 30th March 2014, 21:41

        +1

    • OOliver said on 30th March 2014, 13:30

      Last year Williams was fined heavily for doing something similar.
      I guess RBR got confused because they could simply have him do his penalty and then retire a few meters from his box.

    • joetoml1n (@joetoml1n) said on 30th March 2014, 18:16

      The rules need to be tough though, to prevent an incident like Webber’s bundled pit stop in Germany 2013.. If there was no/lenient penalty for such offenses, then the teams would obviously be less worried about making the offenses.

  5. ME4ME (@me4me) said on 30th March 2014, 12:15

    Why? He already served his penalty in the race? Strange.

    • sporting regulations 2014,

      23.12
      c)
      If a car is deemed to have been released in an unsafe condition dur
      ing a race the driver
      concerned will receive a ten grid place penalty at the driver’s next Event. However, if
      any car released in an unsafe condition is able to resume the rac
      e a penalty under
      Article 16.3(c
      ) will also be imposed
      on the driver concerned
      .

    • sars (@sars) said on 30th March 2014, 13:35

      After last years Red Bull’s, wheel in the pit lane incident, the rules for 2014 were changed such that driver incurs BOTH a 10 second stop and go AND a 10 place drop for the following race.

      Rightly so too, the memory of seeing that wheel roll down the pit lane like some over sized 10 pin ball will be with me for a long time.

      • pxcmerc (@pcxmerc) said on 30th March 2014, 18:55

        rules should not be dictated according to sentiment. Punishing a team in two races for it’s misconduct in 1 race is inconsistent in my view. But hey, its the FIA, and they run the show, rule makers need to make a living too.

        • sars (@sars) said on 31st March 2014, 7:48

          Stupid statement, rules imposed to increase the safety of the sport are pretty much always generated by emotion after someone dies or gets seriously injured

        • Keith Campbell (@keithedin) said on 31st March 2014, 8:02

          If the FIA were more concerned with making a living than improving safety, then surely a fine would have made more sense than a grid penalty?

  6. Chris (@cgturbo) said on 30th March 2014, 12:15

    This isn’t just kicking a man whilst he’s down… This is ordering the entire English rubgy team to tackle him whilst he’s down.

    Daniel’s definitely got a case of Webberitis!

  7. iAltair (@ialtair) said on 30th March 2014, 12:16

    Did Ricciardo offended the Stewards last season?

  8. Younes said on 30th March 2014, 12:16

    RIC -> Pit wall: “Hey guys i want to be part of it”
    Pit wall: “Mr Horner, daniel want to be part of default 31″
    Horner: “Really? ok..destroy his tires and wings !”
    “BOX BOX BOX ”
    :P

    • Paul Ogbeiwi (@pauldstar) said on 30th March 2014, 12:43

      hahahahaha
      “FINISH HIM!”
      “FLAWLESS VICTORY”

      • Younes (@moumny) said on 30th March 2014, 12:50

        Version 2
        “Mister Horner, We have a problem”
        “huh?”
        “The backup fuel sensing method of the FIA is working, We cannot get him DSQ again !”
        “ERrr… try braking his front wing”
        “Right way sir”
        “Wait ! make sure you release him unsafely”
        “For the next race? you sir, are a genius !!!”

  9. Sam (@) said on 30th March 2014, 12:16

    It is a double penalty for sure and time will tell whether this is the standard penalty for an unsafe release. (10 sec S&G + 10 spot grid penalty)

    Made me wonder:
    Unsafe release and you crash into another driver by going out.
    1 10 sec stop and go for unsafe release
    2 5 sec stop and go for crash
    3 10 spot grid penalty
    4 2 penalty points?

  10. Force Maikel (@force-maikel) said on 30th March 2014, 12:17

    You can’t punish a man twice, come on this is beyond redicoulus.

    • Force Maikel (@force-maikel) said on 30th March 2014, 13:24

      So apparently he didn’t serve his stop and go, so yeah that clears it up basically.

    • Eoin (@eoin16) said on 30th March 2014, 15:24

      This is a new rule that was made this winter in order to stop teams trying to go for sub 2 second stops. A stop-go AND grid drop will be applied for an unsafe release.

  11. Quant said on 30th March 2014, 12:17

    I’m trying to remember if he took the in-race penalty before he retired or not. If he did take the penalty, then a second penalty seems extremely harsh.

  12. Andrei (@crandreico) said on 30th March 2014, 12:18

    Oh, c’mon!! What are the stewards doing? They’re trying to redeem themselves for being such an incompetent bunch last year?! They’re being childish in my opinion…

    • Palle (@palle) said on 30th March 2014, 20:28

      If I had been a steward leafing through the regulations, I had done the same, even if I think he and RBR was punished above reason by the points loss inflicted upon themselves by their bad luck or incompetence. The rules are clear, its not the stewards fault that it turns out to be very harsh in this case, especially because the incident didn’t cause any great danger or severe inconvenience to others – as I remember it. And the wheel didn’t come off.

  13. imarlab (@imarlab) said on 30th March 2014, 12:18

    Way too harsh. Vettel does not need more help.

  14. gabal (@gabal) said on 30th March 2014, 12:19

    I guess they really want to punish harshly for unsafe release as a flying wheel in pits is a potentially lethal situation.

    • Jake (@jleigh) said on 30th March 2014, 13:45

      I think that’s the key. The FIA have clearly decided that loose wheels can’t be tolerated (rightly so, let’s never forget what happened to Henry Surtees) and are clamping down on it hard. One option is to have minimum pit stop times, the other is to punish very heavily so that the teams effectively police themselves.

      • pxcmerc (@pcxmerc) said on 30th March 2014, 19:00

        Red Bull were credited with an unsafe release, it had nothing to do with the ‘loose’ wheel I believe. If Ricciardo had managed to leave the pits with out looking his wheel was going to fall off, and then killed his motor 100 meters after the pit and claimed some sort of failure, he probably would not have been punished at all. If anything, this rule raises the incentive to not stop your car after a release, and to continue down and out the pits hoping the wheel won’t fall off.

        • Strontium (@strontium) said on 30th March 2014, 22:09

          It’s still classed as an unsafe release if the wheel isn’t attached. The car has to be fully ready to go, not just with 3 proper wheels and hope the other one stays seated for 300 metres.

  15. Mouse_Nightshirt (@mouse_nightshirt) said on 30th March 2014, 12:19

    Kid can’t catch a break can he?

    And he wasn’t “punished twice” as some people are saying – he didn’t take the penalty for an unsafe release despite the chance to do so.

    • BasCB (@bascb) said on 30th March 2014, 13:02

      Ah, yes. That does explain it. RBR should have had him first take the 10 second penalty and THEN retire him.

      • Iestyn Davies (@fastiesty) said on 30th March 2014, 13:23

        Well, that was stupid then

        • McKenzie (@mckenzie) said on 30th March 2014, 15:35

          It’s Ricciardo for whom I feel sorry too, @mouse_nightshirt. He took the hit for the team’s unsafe release, although I accept F1 is a team sport.

          First, RB – more or less – robbed him of a podium as a result of the fuel filter fiasco in Australia. Now they wreck his second race and disadvantage him for the next one. And (from Keith’s post, emphasis mine) “a member of their team was observed not to be wearing protective headgear during Ricciardo’s stop.” Just as well the team member was – presumably – wearing protective headgear during Vettel’s stops.

          Ricciardo’s run of bad luck is probably just one of those things. But it certainly looks like the poor guy is being let down by events beyond his control. I suppose he could have avoided the Bahrain, grid penalty by taking the 10 second penalty during this last race, but that failure may also be a corollary to RB’s poor judgement.

          Poor Ricciardo. He started this race so well, particularly at the start. Three races: Australia; Malaysia and Bahrain. Three sets of issues that aren’t really his fault.

    • Shena (@shena) said on 30th March 2014, 17:19

      As mentioned above a couple of times, he served the penalty before the retire.
      http://www.f1fanatic.co.uk/2014/03/30/2014-malaysian-grand-prix-tyre-strategies-pit-stops/
      First three for tyres, 4th for nose change and 5th for the penalty

1 2 3 4

Add your comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

All comments must abide by the comment policy. Comments may be moderated.
Want to post off-topic? Head to the forum.
See the FAQ for more information.