Nigel Mansell, Williams-Renault FW14B, Monaco, 1992

Mercedes make most dominant start since 1992

2014 Bahrain Grand Prix stats and factsPosted on | Author Keith Collantine

F1F CSLewis Hamilton’s 24th career win means he has tied with Juan Manuel Fangio in tenth place on the list of the sport’s most prolific winners.

Unusually for a driver with so many victories to his name, he is yet to win more than two in a row. This is the fourth time he has done so, following previous back-to-back wins in 2007, 2008 and 2010.

There was no repeat of his Malaysia ‘grand slam’ as team mate Nico Rosberg took the pole position. That was the fifth of his career, giving him as many as his father Keke, as well as Giuseppe Farina, Chris Amon, Clay Regazzoni and Patrick Tambay.

Nigel Mansell, Williams-Renault FW14B, Monaco, 1992Rosberg also claimed the sixth fastest lap of his career, moving him level with Jose Froilan Gonzalez, Mike Hawthorn, Phil Hill, Dan Gurney, Emerson Fittipaldi, Carlos Reutemann and Heinz-Harald Frentzen.

Having scored their first one-two for 59 years in Malaysia, Mercedes added a second just seven days later in Bahrain. It’s the seventh time they have done so and their 16th win, the same number of victories as Cooper. They also marked their 20th pole position.

For the third race in a row every lap was led by a Mercedes driver. That’s the most dominant start any team has made to a season since 1992, when Williams led all of the first five races, plus the first 70 laps of the Monaco Grand Prix.

Sergio Perez scored the fourth podium finish of his career. Force India is the second team he has taken a podium finish with – he also did at Sauber, but not at McLaren.

This was the first time a Force India has been classified in third place. It’s their second podium finish, following on from Giancarlo Fisichella’s second place in the 2009 Belgian Grand Prix.

Daniel Ricciardo scored the best result of his career so far with fourth place – assuming his disqualification from second in the Australian Grand Prix is upheld by the FIA Court of Appeal one week from today.

McLaren posted their first retirement since the 2012 Brazilian Grand Prix when Kevin Magnussen retired with a clutch problem. As a result Magnussen failed to score for the first time in his three-race career – as did Daniil Kvyat.

This was the first time since last year’s British Grand Prix that there wasn’t a Red Bull on the front row or a McLaren in the points. Meanwhile Ferrari racked up their 70th consecutive race in the points – the last time they failed to score was at the 2010 British Grand Prix.

During practice Felipe Nasr and Robin Frijns made their first appearances in an official F1 session. With Giedo van der Garde also performing practice duties for Sauber this was the first time two Dutch drivers were on track at the same time at a grand prix weekend since practice for the 2006 Brazilian Grand Prix, when Christijan Albers was racing for Midland and Robert Doornbos drove for Red Bull.

Several milestones were reached in Sunday’s race including the 900th round of the world championship.

Jenson Button marked his 250th grand prix start though he failed to score after suffering a similar problem to Magnussen.

This was also the 400th start for the team which started life as Jordan in 1991 and is now called Force India, having also appeared as Midland (2006) and Spyker (2007).

Review the year so far in statistics here:

Spotted any other interesting stats and facts from the Bahrain Grand Prix? Share them in the comments.

2014 Bahrain Grand Prix

Browse all 2014 Bahrain Grand Prix articles

Image © Williams/LAT

78 comments on “Mercedes make most dominant start since 1992”

Jump to comment page: 1 2
  1. Today marks the 113th day since anyone complained about Tilke designing circuits (subject to verification).

  2. Didn’t Perez lead a lap in a Force India when Hamilton was in the pits?

  3. Another fact:

    Pastor Maldonado has never in his career accepted responsibility for a crash

  4. Jenson Button has appeared in more than 25% formula 1 championship races ever held.

    Michael Schumacher has won over 10% of the Formula 1 races ever held.

  5. If Mercedes takes Redbull place only thing missing is Hamilton raising the finger, unless your are a fan is the same for non Vettel fan.

    If you take mercedes out will be the most contested and closest f1 ever

  6. Here’s a stat from reddit, of all the podiums Perez has had Hamilton has been on all of them and Vettels been on none of them.

  7. Not sure if this has already been mentioned elsewhere, but I’ve just realised so thought I would post.

    Mercedes and Red Bull have now won every race since last year’s Spanish GP – 17 races ago. The last time there was a period this long without a Ferrari or McLaren win was in 1995/96 when 18 races passed between Alesi’s victory in the 1995 Canadian GP and Schumacher’s in the 1996 Spanish GP.

    If Ferrari or McLaren fail to win either of the next two races, it will become the longest streak since 1980/81 when 20 races passed between Villeneuve’s wins in the 1979 USA East GP and the 1981 Monaco GP.

    As far as I’m aware (and I could be wrong!) there has never been a streak longer than 20 races without a Ferrari or McLaren victory in Formula 1 history. That could definitely be broken in Canada if Mercedes’ form continues.

Jump to comment page: 1 2

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

All comments are moderated. See the Comment Policy and FAQ for more.