Keke Rosberg, Williams, Adelaide, 1985

Rosberg equals father’s tally with second Monaco win

2014 Monaco Grand Prix stats and factsPosted on | Author Keith Collantine

Keke Rosberg, Williams, Adelaide, 1985Nico Rosberg chalked up his fifth career win on the streets of his home town – and has now won as many races as his world championship-winning father Keke.

He joins Giuseppe Farina, Clay Regazzoni, John Watson and Michele Alboreto, who were all winners of five world championship races.

This is the first time Rosberg has won twice at the same venues – and what a place to do it in. The prestige of the Monaco Grand Prix makes it one of the most coveted prizes in motor racing.

Rosberg became the 14th driver to win more than once at the Principality, joining the exclusive ranks of multiple Monaco Grand Prix winners:

Driver Wins Years
Ayrton Senna 6 1987, 1989, 1990, 1991, 1992, 1993
Graham Hill 5 1963, 1964, 1965, 1968, 1969
Michael Schumacher 5 1994, 1995, 1997, 1999, 2001
Alain Prost 4 1984, 1985, 1986, 1988
Stirling Moss 3 1956, 1960, 1961
Jackie Stewart 3 1966, 1971, 1973
Juan Manuel Fangio 2 1950, 1957
Maurice Trintignant 2 1955, 1958
Niki Lauda 2 1975, 1976
Jody Scheckter 2 1977, 1979
David Coulthard 2 2000, 2002
Fernando Alonso 2 2006, 2007
Mark Webber 2 2010, 2012
Nico Rosberg 2 2013, 2014

Rosberg’s sixth pole position puts him level with Phil Hill, Emerson Fittipaldi, Jean-Pierre Jabouille, Alan Jones, Carlos Reutemann and Ralf Schumacher.

But he was denied a ‘grand slam’ by Kimi Raikkonen, whose late pit stop helped him set the 40th fastest lap of his career. One more will put him level with Alain Prost, and after that only Michael Schumacher has more, with 77.

With Lewis Hamilton in second place this was Mercedes’ tenth one-two, half of which have come in the last five races. The last team to score one-twos in five consecutive races were Ferrari in the 2002 Hungarian, Belgian, Italian, United States and Japanese Grands Prix.

If Mercedes keep racking up one-two they will win the constructors’ championship in Singapore with five races to spare.

Jules Bianchi, Marussia, Monte-Carlo, 2014Ninth place for Jules Bianchi meant he scored Marussia’s first points in their 45th race since the Russian-backed team’s first race in 2012. Prior to that they started 38 point-less races as Virgin.

That leaves Caterham the only team in F1 today which has never scored a point. Like Marussia, they changed their identity in 2012 having competed in the previous two seasons as Lotus. If they fail to score a point in the next 11 races they will equal HRT’s record of most starts without a point.

Bianchi had to wait 25 races before his first points. That’s the eighth-longest in F1 history – the record is held by Nicola Larini, who started 44 races before taking his first points with second in the 1994 San Marino Grand Prix.

Valtteri Bottas’s power unit failure meant he failed to score a point in a race for the first time this year, leaving Rosberg, Alonso and Nico Hulkenberg the only drivers who have scored at every round.

Mercedes extended their streak of leading every lap of the season so far. They are the first team to lead every lap of the first six races since McLaren in 1988, who didn’t fail to lead a lap until the start of round eight at Silverstone.

Review the year so far in statistics here:

Spotted any other interesting stats and facts from the Monaco Grand Prix? Share them in the comments.

2014 Monaco Grand Prix

Browse all 2014 Monaco Grand Prix articles

Image © Williams/LAT, Marussia