Start, Circuit Gilles Villeneuve, 2014

Eliminate double points and more with the updated F1 Points Calculator

2014 F1 seasonPosted on Author Keith Collantine

Start, Circuit Gilles Villeneuve, 2014The F1 Fanatic Points Calculator has attracted a lot of interest since it was relaunched last month.

The latest version which has just become available adds several new features, many of which were requested by F1 Fanatic readers. They include:

  • Calculate points based on previous scoring systems including 2010-2013 (no double points) and 1991-2002 (ten points for a win)
  • Calculate points based on the scoring systems for other championships such as NASCAR and IndyCar*
  • Calculator constructors’ championship points

Of course as before you can add the results for forthcoming races and even alter the finishing positions in earlier races to work out how the points would, could or should add up under different scenarios.

Give the updated F1 Fanatic Points Calculator a try now:

Go ad-free for just £1 per month

>> Find out more and sign up

Share your findings and suggestions for changes in the comments.

*Based on finishing positions only, i.e. not including points for pole position, etc…

2014 F1 season

Browse all 2014 F1 season articles

Image © Daimler/Hoch Zwei

28 comments on “Eliminate double points and more with the updated F1 Points Calculator”

  1. Wow. I can’t believe using NASCAR points brings Alonso so close to Rosberg! Without the Chase or Abu Double, Alonso could actually pull off a championship from four points down. Mind blown, Keith!

    1. there are some mistakes in the indycar and nascar points dnf are credited with 0 points but that is never the case in nascar or indycar, the first driver to retire is given 22th place and gets points for 22 th even if he crashes at turn one at the start of the race.

  2. Interesting to have a look at. Just one suggestion, when I click on Indycar or Nascar, the table gets shifted down a line because the explanation of how the points are given goes on to two lines instead of 1. It makes it difficult to compare which drivers would swap positions as the table moves…

    Any way you could add a blank line on the others so that the tables all start at the same point?

  3. Raikkonen would be on a single point under the old points system o.o

    I think I still prefer the 1991-2002 system. Points were far more lucrative then. Now almost the entire field can score points. Loses some meaning IMO.

  4. There is a problem with the constructors championship points calculator: I changed the positions for all the drivers but the constructor championship points shows the same numbers from the beggining (the 2014 race positions). The drivers championship points calculator is showing the correct numbers from the new data I introduced though, only the constructors one is still using the old data. Does anyone eles has the same issue? (Sorry for my english by the way)

  5. Wow. Looking at the NASCAR and Indycar points systems shows how badly retirements affect drivers. Nearly 40 points behind and if he had finished even 2nd in Australia he would be a couple ahead of Rosberg. Also, Alonso being that close to Rosberg on these systems shows how much those other sports reward consistency. Good on Fernando.

  6. I like the Nascarl sytle point system… that way you don’t have to worry at the end of the season which team is last. I think last season, Caterham would have taken 10th if they scored every position, not the highest placing in the season. Conversely, look at Marussia now 7th in the standings in both indy and nascarl.

  7. This is what the Indy Car standings would look like if it included retirements and bonus points:
    1 Nico Rosberg 468
    2 Lewis Hamilton 445
    3 Daniel Ricciardo 339
    4 Fernando Alonso 339
    5 Valtteri Bottas 314
    6 Sebastian Vettel 279
    7 Nico Hulkenberg 278
    8 Jenson Button 270
    9 Kevin Magnussen 243
    10 Kimi Raikkonen 227
    11 Felipe Massa 220
    12 Sergio Perez 206
    13 Daniil Kvyat 178
    14 Jean-Eric Vergne 176
    15 Romain Grosjean 167
    16 Jules Bianchi 156
    17 Adrian Sutil 153
    18 Esteban Gutierrez 151
    19 Max Chilton 150
    20 Pastor Maldonado 147
    21 Kamui Kobayashi 146
    22 Marcus Ericsson 131

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>