Grand Prix flashback articles on F1 Fanatic archive

20 years ago today: Mansell finally wins the title 16th August 2012, 12:55

Nigel Mansell clinched the world championship in an unusually incident-packed Hungarian Grand Prix on this day in 1992.

Today in 1987: Mansell defeats Piquet at Silverstone 12th July 2012, 12:31

One of Nigel Mansell’s greatest victories came 25 years ago today on home ground at Silverstone – but his win had consequences for Williams.

Today in 1962: The Clark-Lotus era begins at Spa 17th June 2012, 11:11

Jim Clark’s victory in the 1962 Belgian Grand Prix marked the beginning of an era in which he and Lotus owner Colin Chapman dominated Formula 1.

Today in 1982: Start line crash in Canada kills Paletti 13th June 2012, 9:25

The turbulent 1982 season took another tragic turn 30 years ago today as Ricardo Paletti lost his life in the Canadian Grand Prix.

On this day in 1982: Gilles Villeneuve killed at Zolder 8th May 2012, 9:22

Formula One lost one of its most beloved heroes on this day 30 years ago. Gilles Villeneuve was killed in a crash at Zolder in Belgium.

30 years ago today: Villeneuve and Pironi’s fatal feud at Ferrari 25th April 2012, 9:29

The 1982 San Marino Grand Prix, 30 years ago today, began with a political row and ended with a bitter feud between team mates – which had tragic consequences.

20 years ago today: Schumacher’s first podium and Mexico’s last race 22nd March 2012, 17:34

Mexico’s last F1 race, held 20 years ago today, saw Michael Schumacher claim his first podium finish.

50 years ago today: F1’s worst tragedy at Monza 10th September 2011, 0:39

On this day 50 years ago, a crash during the Italian Grand Prix claimed the lives of 16 people.

“He was on it from the word go” – Schumacher’s debut remembered 25th August 2011, 11:14

On this day in 1991, Michael Schumacher made his F1 debut behind the wheel of a Jordan 191.

60 years ago today: Ferrari’s first F1 win 14th July 2011, 8:00

On 14 July 1951 Jos?â?® Froil?â?ín Gonz?â?ílez scored Ferrari’s first world championship race win.