Group Admins

  • Profile picture of Keith Collantine

Group Mods

  • Profile picture of damonsmedley
  • Profile picture of Bradley Downton


Public Group active 18 minutes ago

F1 discussion

Alonso and Raikkonen: Tenth time two champions in one team

This topic contains 2 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of Andrey Patsino Andrey Patsino 1 year, 11 months ago.

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
  • #133591
    Profile photo of Andrey Patsino
    Andrey Patsino

    Alonso Raikkonen 2014

    Profile photo of Iestyn Davies
    Iestyn Davies

    Interesting how McLaren have had it so many times… it shows how well Hamilton has done vs. Button as well, without mechanical retirements in 2012 he would have a lot more wins than 10-8. Maybe more than 12-8 at least. In McLaren’s case, perhaps concentrating on 2 drivers has hindered it’s own aspirations – it should have won 2007 WDC, WCC, 2012 WDC, after losing in 2003/5. 1953 was lucky, as Farina in 1950 could easily have been Fangio 1950, barring mechanical failure. Lotus were unlucky with Clark’s death – he would have likely won 1968 ahead of Hill and then who knows what would have happened with 69-72 where Fittipaldi won in 72 and Rindt in 70 (same with Rindt). But I feel Clark would have retired and Rindt would have come in – seeing so many people die (and Hill’s career halting injury in 1969) would surely have meant this was inevitable. 1982 was a mad year (I feel Villeneuve was going to be champion, it seems similar to Senna in 1994 for the start of a year and the twists and turns throughout it).

    Profile photo of Andrey Patsino
    Andrey Patsino

    Iestyn Davies, thank you for detailed reply. It’s interesting that McLaren won more than 30% races in 2010-2012. Only Red Bull has better statistics (48%).

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)

You must be logged in to reply to this topic.

Skip to toolbar