F1

Does Maldonado cost more than he brings

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    Broke84
    Participant

Another crash in fp2. Does Maldonado use up more cash than he brings? Maybe someone in the know can estimate the costs.

No. More money is put into R&D than the car, and I think Maldonado brings enough to have a decent effect on R&D, which I’m pretty sure his crashes go nowhere in negating.

I’m not an expert.

minnis
    Participant

No, he brings a lot more money than he uses up.

A quick google search indicates that Maldonado is bringing somewhere in the region of £30m. Another quick google found me a video by Eddie Jordan showing how much crashes can cost. A front wing/nosecone assembley is about £100k, suspension is about £150k a corner etc. He also detailed two big crashes in recent years – Perez’s monaco crash 2011 and the first corner incident at Spa 2012. Perez’s crash would have cost about £600k, and the TOTAL cost of the Spa 2012 would have been about £1.5 million.

It’s pretty clear that even if he caused £1.5M worth of damage every race weekend, they’d still be making money. Even then, most weekends he causes nowhere near that amount of monetary damage.

Broke84
    Participant

Yeah I remember that video too.

Anonymous
    Inactive

The answer to the first question might be YES, but it remains a wild guess with many uncertainty.

There are other potential ‘costs’ which are not related to replacing a nose-cone or suspension.

Firstly there are points to be earned, which translate into prize money at the end of the season. This can be a lot of money. The difference between 1st and 2nd is some $10.5m, and it can even be as much as $49m for Catherham between finishing 10th or 11th this year ($35m tier 1, plus $14m tier 2).
    But the impact for Lotus is likely to be much less. The difference in prize money between 8th (current ranking) and 7th is ‘just’ $3.5m.