F1

Does Tilke's love of off-camber corners discourage overtaking?

Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Author
    VMaxMuffin
    Participant

So I’m studying for a physics exam and I was thinking about cornering in a race car and how camber affects it, from a physics point of view.

Firstly, the big issue with overtaking in F1 is – and has been for a while – is the difficulty of following another car due to the affect of the turbulent air coming off a car on the aerodynamics of the car behind. So, a general principle to improve overtaking is to decrease the dependence on aerodynamic grip and increase the dependence on mechanical grip from the tyres and overall chassis and suspension geometry – which of course is unaffected by turbulent air. We have seen the FIA try to enforce this through regulation since the major rules overhaul of 2009, but as always progress keeps marching forward and I believe the cars are are probably still producing as much downforce now as they did in 2008. If not they can’t be far off.

Now, on to off camber corners. Tilke’s new circuits are full of them. The most recent example is in Mexico – look at the esses before the overhaul:

And now afterwards:

It is clear to see that several of the corners in the esses are now off camber, whereas before they all had a decent amount of camber.

Sochi and Abu Dhabi also have lots of off-camber corners – those are the ones that particularly come to mind.

Now, on to my point.

I believe the logic behind the off-camber corners is that they are more difficult (so a driver is more likely to make a mistake) and they are also slower (reducing aero dependence). This, supposedly, should promote overtaking. But, I think there is a problem with this.