Well if the board is worn past the allowed limit, the FIA have no choice but to DQ him, no matter how it happened.
The reason is because a precedent for this situation has been set on more than one occasion. In the past two identical events, the damaged car was disqualified. So naturally, the same outcome would have to apply otherwise the rule enforcers would no only be inconsistent, but also be accused of having double standards.
I hope those metal stubs that were creating the sparks did their job in protecting the board.