Group Admins

  • Profile picture of Keith Collantine

Group Mods

  • Profile picture of damonsmedley
  • Profile picture of Bradley Downton

F1

Public Group active 1 minute ago

F1 discussion

kobayashi's Pit Stop

This topic contains 11 replies, has 10 voices, and was last updated by Avatar of CanOBeans CanOBeans 4 years, 1 month ago.

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    Posts
  • #127780
    Avatar of lamo2741
    lamo2741
    Participant

    Hi,

    Just got a question regarding late pit stops, such as Kobayashi yesterday:

    As Kobayashi’s pit box was before the start finish line, could he of come in on the last lap, then crossed the finish in the pit lane, as this would of saved him quite some time?

    Thanks

    #141855
    Avatar of Don Speekingleesh
    Don Speekingleesh
    Participant

    No. I think they have to do a lap on each tire compound.

    #141856
    Avatar of Ned Flanders
    Ned Flanders
    Participant

    That’s probably illegal… although Michael Schumacher got away with it at Silverstone 1998…

    #141857
    Avatar of Don Speekingleesh
    Don Speekingleesh
    Participant

    Schumacher only got away with it because the stewards made a mess of issuing the penalty.

    The rule is 25.4(e): Unless he has used intermediate or wet-weather tyres during the race, each driver must use at least

    one set of each specification of dry-weather tyres during the race.

    So KOB could have tried to get away with it.

    #141858
    Avatar of TommyB
    TommyB
    Participant

    I wondered this during the race too.

    #141859
    Avatar of mattclinch
    mattclinch
    Member

    I think he could have got away with it you know..

    Rules say nothing about completing a full lap on them – only that they have to be used.

    #141860
    Avatar of dsob
    dsob
    Participant

    “Rules say nothing about completing a full lap on them – only that they have to be used. “

    Mattclinch is perfectly correct, in this statement, and Ned and Don are incorrect that Schumacher accomplished it only because the Stewards failed in ruling correctly.

    There is no try to get away with it, or get away with it. Simply put, as Mattclinch stated, the rules do not specify any minimum number of laps that a compound must be used, only that each of the 2 compounds must be used.

    As soon as someone DOES use this effectively to their advantage in a race-winning or really any podium finish, be certain the regs will be changed. Formula 1 simply can’t allow any such innovation or individuality. It is, after all, a ‘spec’ series.

    [hint:use Webster's Unabridged to look up 'sarcasm' ]

    #141861
    Avatar of Hare
    Hare
    Participant

    I looked up ‘sarcasm’ in Webster’s Unabridged, and it’s had a link to this page.. odd ;-)

    #141862
    Avatar of Enigma
    Enigma
    Participant

    In case a driver started on harder tyres, could he pit and put softer tyres on, remove them the same second and get a new set of harder tyres on? The rule doesn’t seem to say anything in specific, so maybe that would be okay too. Not sure.

    #141863
    Avatar of wasiF1
    wasiF1
    Participant

    The rule states that you have to us both compounds for at least one lap in the race, so to answer lamo2741 question I have to say that No.

    #141864
    Avatar of Don Speekingleesh
    Don Speekingleesh
    Participant

    I posted the rule above – there is no mention of having to do a lap.

    #141865
    Avatar of CanOBeans
    CanOBeans
    Participant

    Pitting on the final lap, when you enter the pits, it is technically the finish line, not the actual start finish line on the track. Therefore he would not have dne a single lap on them, and completed the race before entering his pit box.

    This is how Schumacher ‘served’ the penalty technically post race, and now how late race incidents are now time penalties rather than on track

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)

You must be logged in to reply to this topic.