So you don’t think that Daly should have been aware of the line Suranovich was taking? If you watch the replay again, Suranovich clearly follows a single line from the exit of the tunnel to the chicane. He does not deviate from it in any way. Daly went right, and then he tried to go left – and by this point, it was obvious Suranovich was taking a defensive line, and Daly never would have made it.
Furthermore, when you are shown a black flag, you have three laps to return to the pits (at least, that’s the way it works down here, and we play by FIA rules). Going by Cregan’s comments, the accident happened on the third lap that the flags were shown. Suranovich had until the end of the lap to pit. In that case, why didn’t Lotus inform Daly that Suranovich had to pull over at the end of the lap? Why wasn’t Daly already aware of this rule?
All of this is beside the point, though. Suranovich was punished with an exclusion from the race. Daly was given his penalty because he hit Suranovich the first time, and the stewards are giving the opinion that that contact was a major contributing factor in the second accident. If Daly had not hit Suranovich, Suranovich would not have lost his wing. If Suranovich had not lost his wing, the second accident would not have happened because Suranovich would be moving at race speed rather than half speed.