Group Admins

• Profile picture of Keith Collantine

Group Mods

• Profile picture of Bradley Downton

Off-topic

Public Group active 2 weeks, 6 days ago

The place for off-topic discussion

Advice on trackside medical support?

This topic contains 5 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of BasCB BasCB 3 years, 5 months ago.

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    Profile photo of Mouse_Nightshirt
    Mouse_Nightshirt
    Participant

Guys and gals.

Was wondering if anyone could point me the right direction here. Some of you know I’m a doctor, and I’m heading in the direction of anaesthesia and acute care. Part of gearing myself up for this is to do a course in ATLS (Advanced Trauma Life Support).

I was wondering if I could utilise this as part of trackside medical support teams at race events, especially as I handily live within 45 minutes of Silverstone, both to provide support and get a bit more experience. Does anyone know of whom or which organisations I need to get in touch with to do this?

Thanks ahead for your help :D

Profile photo of LL Jehto
    LL Jehto

Shouldn’t it be the track owner? I believe they are the ones that usually organizes the GPs

Profile photo of LL Jehto
    LL Jehto

I found this, Mouse_Nightshirt:

http://www.barc.net/AMRCO/index.htm#sv

Octagon Motorsports Ltd.

Silverstone Circuit Towcester, Northamptonshire. NN12 8TN

Telephone +44 (0) 1327 857271

0844 3728 250

Fax +44 (0) 1327 857663

0844 3728 200

and their website: http://www.silverstone.co.uk/

I’m sure if you call them, they’ll be able to tell you something.

Profile photo of suffolk
    suffolk
    Participant

Have a look at the British Motorsport Marshals Club website http://www.marshals.co.uk/. From their FAQ:

What duties do BMMC Marshals cover?