Group Admins

• Profile picture of Keith Collantine

Group Mods

• Profile picture of Bradley Downton

Off-topic

Public Group active 1 week, 4 days ago

The place for off-topic discussion

How fast could a F1 car with a Bugatti Veyron engine go?

This topic contains 13 replies, has 8 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of raymondu999 raymondu999 2 years, 10 months ago.

Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Author
    Profile photo of dam00r
    dam00r
    Participant

Do we have any experts here?

Profile photo of raymondu999
    raymondu999
    Participant

Hard to say… we don’t have specifics on the Veyron engine such as fuel consumption, cooling figures, weight etc.

The side pods I would imagine would need to be bigger to cool the massive engine, which would create drag, and I’m no expert on engines in particular but a bigger air box might be needed given the number of cylinders and turbos involved.

The torque and power delivery curves would also have to be seen – I don’t know how peaky the engine is.

However if you’re talking more of basically having a Veyron’s power and torque on an F1 car with no need for extra cooling; then I’d say well fast. Most teams however would probably increase wing angle instead to get more downforce rather than the extra engine oomph.

Profile photo of deanmachine
    deanmachine
    Participant

I think it’d actually be slower, granted I’m not the expert you were looking for, but the Veyron basically has two 4 litre V8s. The engine themselves nevermind being absolutely huge would probably weigh the same as an entire F1 car.

Considering the old 3.0 V10s produced pretty much the same power as a Veyron proves my point, an F1 cars aerodynamics is the reason why it’s “slow” compared to a Veyron.

Without the wings and underfloor, but some kind of more basic downforce an F1 car could get close to 300 mph without such an engine.

Profile photo of sato113
    sato113
    Participant