Forum Replies Created

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    Posts
  • #216135
    Profile photo of Matt
    Matt
    Member

    Searching I find no explicit ban to KERS in a yellow zone, however drivers must of course back of and when Shumacher used DRS in a yellow zone the rules were clarified and at the same time it was suggested that using KERS would be seen as failing to back off.

    #216132
    Profile photo of Matt
    Matt
    Member

    @Keith

    My apologies I thought it applied to both KERS and DRS.

    #216130
    Profile photo of Matt
    Matt
    Member

    Regardless of the colour of the Flag, doesn’t this show Vettle is using KERS before he passes the flag, and thus he’s still breaking F1 rules?

    http://i46.tinypic.com/1zcjssy.jpg

    #216077
    Profile photo of Matt
    Matt
    Member

    @Alonso – I can confirm the video is identical and the screen shot I have taken is from 06:03 into the video you just posted. Immediately following the screen shot he passes the STR.

    #216073
    Profile photo of Matt
    Matt
    Member

    @Fernando The video was taken directly before the overtake – from this Video (http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/formula1/20535302), it doesn’t have a lap number displayed but I’m sure this is the questionable maneuver.

    #216072
    Profile photo of Matt
    Matt
    Member

    Perhaps we should discuss potential penalties if he were penalised for either flags or KERS use and which of those penalties change the outcome of the championship.

    I assume a drop of two places (19.2 seconds) is all that is required as Vettel finished +9.4 secs in 6th place and 8th place was Vergne at +28.6 seconds. Therefore either DSQ or 20+ second penalty would drop Vettel 4 points.

    Does anyone know if anyone has ever avoided a penalty for ignoring flags or been given less than a 20 second penalty? I can’t remember any.

    The irony perhaps in all this is that if the STR of Vergne, had slowed down another 0.8 seconds before crossing the line Vettel could have been handed a 20 second penalty with no change to the championship result. Amusing considering that is the driver Vettel passed.

    The Red Bull B Team amazingly weren’t going too slow… they were going too fast!

    #216068
    Profile photo of Matt
    Matt
    Member

    Rarely post here but have to agree that certainly looks like KERS is being deployed:

    Trusting this image http://i49.tinypic.com/212bl1c.jpg I believe this screenshot I just took shows the stand for the marshal on the far left under the BBC logo:

    http://i46.tinypic.com/1zcjssy.jpg

    If so then as can be seen here KERS is being deployed and I find it hard to believe that Vettlel has already passed the green flag based on the position of the tower for the marshal alone.

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)