F1 edging towards 20-race seasons

The confirmation of the British Grand Prix on the 2010 F1 calendar yesterday confirms next year’s schedule will be the joint-longest ever. With the first Indian Grand Prix planned for 2011, F1 may soon see its first 20-race championship.

Silverstone to use “more exciting” Moto GP track for 2010 F1 race (Pictures)

Silverstone intends to use a new track layout for the 2010 British Grand Prix. The new circuit will include most of Silverstone’s signature high-speed bends such as Copse, Maggotts, Becketts and Stowe, but not the high-speed Bridge corner. But a circuit spokesperson told F1 Fanatic he expected the new circuit to be “equally, if not […]

What was F1’s best race of the decade?

While the first half of F1’s sixth decade will be remembered for the crushing dominance of Michael Schumacher, the second half was much less predictable. I know I’m as guilty as anyone of complaining about the odd duff race too much when I should be talking up the great moments F1 gives us. So let’s […]

Football goes 3D but still no HD for F1

The 2010 Football World Cup will be broadcast in 3D next year by Sony. Up to 25 matches in the 64-game series will be available in 3D. F1, meanwhile, has still not embraced the last generation of broadcasting technology: high definition.

2010 British Grand Prix deal done (updated)

Alan Henry claims on the Guardian’s website that the British Grand Prix will be on the 2010 F1 calendar and stay there until 2014. The story claims a five-year deal with Silverstone to host the British Grand Prix has been struck and will be announced tomorrow. That would coincide with the race-holding British Racing Drivers’ […]

Massa and di Grassi win 500 mile kart race

Felipe Massa won a kart race in Brazil for the second weekend in a row. This time it was the 500 Milhas Granja Viana race, which he won with F1 2010 hopeful Lucas di Grassi and Stock Car Lights driver Julio Campos. Rubens Barrichello, who won last year’s Granja Viana, placed third in a five-man […]

2009 F1 driver biographies updated

I’ve updated the biographies for each of the 25 drivers who started an F1 race in 2009. You can find them all below: McLaren Lewis Hamilton Heikki Kovalainen Ferrari Felipe Massa Kimi R??ikk??nen Luca Badoer Giancarlo Fisichella BMW Robert Kubica Nick Heidfeld Renault Fernando Alonso Nelson Piquet Jnr Romain Grosjean Toyota Jarno Trulli Timo Glock […]

BMW pick GT racing and WTCC over F1

BMW have announced details of the categories they will be racing in during 2010 having pulled out of F1. Far from pulling out of motor racing entirely the company is expanding its GT racing programme, leaving you to wonder what these other categories offer which F1 does not.

Brawn GP: One incredible year (Video)

One year ago today, Honda announced it was putting its F1 team up for sale. In the 12 months since then their successors, Brawn, stunned us by not only surviving but by dominating the first half of the season and ultimately bringing home both world titles. It may have been called a ‘fairytale’ but there […]

Kimi Raikkonen joins Citroen in WRC

Kimi R??ikk??nen will drive for Citroen in the World Rally Championship in 2010. He will drive a Red Bull-sponsored Citroen C4 – the car in which Sebastien Loeb has won the last three World Rally Champsionship titles.

Skip to toolbar