F1 links: Badoer hits out at media

Luca Badoer has criticised the F1 press, claiming negative coverage of his appearances for Ferrari led to him losing his drive. And there was me thinking performances like this and this were the real reason. Badoer blames media after losing Ferrari F1 drive Luca Badoer: "Those who write don't understand how much harm they can […]

Italian Grand Prix TV times

Here are the times for the BBC?s F1 coverage of this weekend?s Italian Grand Prix: Friday 11th September 8:55-10:35 – First practice (BBC Red Button and online) 12:55-13:45 – Second practice (BBC Red Button and online) Saturday 12th September 9:55-11:05 – Third practice (BBC Red Button and online) 12:10-14:10 – Qualifying (BBC1, Red Button and […]

Hot, dry weather expected for Monza

The forecast is there should be no repeat of last year’s unusually wet weather at Monza for the Italian Grand Prix this weekend. Three days of hot, dry weather with temperatures reaching the 30s are expected. Only a few sites are predicting any chance of rain – AccuWeather gives a low chance of light rain […]

Fernando Alonso thrills 170,000 fans at home in Oviedo (pictures and video)


Fernando Alonso took to the streets of his home town in Oviedo, Spain to demonstrate a Renault R28 for his adoring fans. It’s safe to assume no-one pointed out the R28 was the same car he won last year’s Singapore Grand Prix in… The twice-champion, who was commemorated with a new street named after him, […]

F1 links: Indian investors eye BMW

The Indian government may not think F1 is a sport, but with Giancarlo Fisichella putting Force India on the podium and a group of Indian investors looking to take over the former BMW team, perhaps F1 is starting to take a foothold in the world’s second-largest country? Indian consortium bids for Formula 1 team BMW […]

Official F1 annuals reviewed

One of my favourite books when I was growing up was “In the driving seat” – a book about F1 racing tracks by Derek Allsop with quotes from Nigel Mansell in it. I learned the track layouts and got my first glimpse of the strange-looking cars of decades past. The young fans of today are […]

Did Piquet crash on purpose? (Poll)

After the Singapore Grand Prix last year there were some people who asked if Nelson Piquet Jnr crashed deliberately but many others – myself included – who rubbished the idea. But the FIA believes it is worth investigating and has launched a World Motor Sports Council hearing into the affair. So how many people believe […]

Updated predictions championship scores (provisional)

I’ve almost finished moving the Predictions Championship over from the old system to Ian Haycox’s terrific new plugin. However because some people used slightly different names in the last round compared to the previous ones, some of the points totals aren’t complete. Here are the standings as they look at the moment. If you seem […]

Renault face Singapore crash hearing

2009 F1 season

The FIA has confirmed Renault are being called to answer charges they deliberately caused a crash to help Fernando Alonso win the 2008 Singapore Grand Prix.

Top ten… Italian Ferrari drivers

Ten of the best Italian drivers to race for the prancing horse.

Skip to toolbar