Follow Me on Twitter

2008: Red Bull

Along with Williams, Red Bull are early contenders for the title of ‘most improved team’. Adrian Newey’s flaky RB3 of 2007 seems to have evolved into a rapid but reliable car in the form of the RB4. This was what the man himself had to say: This car is very much an evolution of RB3. […]

Pictures: Final 2008 Williams livery


Williams have shown off the final livery for their 2008 FW30 which looks only slightly different to the leaked version revealed a few weeks ago. Notable changes are the appearance of sponsor Hamleys on the side pods where previous it had less prominent position. As Pitpass noted last week Hamleys is owner by Baugur Group […]

Farfus half-disqualified from Curitiba races

Augusto Farfus has been stripped of the points he scored in yesterday’s first WTCC race at Curitiba after it was found an engine protection support had been incorrectly mounted to his car. However he has not lost the points he scored in the second race, which suggests that his car was legal in the later […]

2008: Toyota

A lot of mixed messages have been coming out of Toyota this winter. First boss John Howett back-tracked on reported remarks that the team had to become successful within two years: The rumours about us leaving the sport have always been groundless. Having signed the Concorde Agreement, we are in it at least until 2012. […]

The Ben Evans column: Kiss & make up

As is often the way, potentially the most significant motor sport story of the winter has gone largely unnoticed in the UK press, namely the reconciling of the Indy Racing League and Champ Car after 12 seasons of war. There are few more significant motor sport cautionary tales.

Poll results: Push-to-pass

Most F1 fans would like to see the quality of racing improve. But how far should the governing body go in trying to make the sport better? Other series like A1 Grand Prix use ‘push to pass’ systems to give drivers a brief boost of power to let them overtake an opponent. Is this too […]

Another Seat win at Curitiba

Gabriele Tarquini was chased home by 2007 champion Andy Priaulx in the second WTCC race at Curitiba. Further back another Seat, race one winner Yvan Muller, desperately kept Augusto Farfus at bay for fifth place. Seat have started the year with a quicker car over a single lap – their turbo engines aided by the […]

Yvan Muller wins WTCC round 1 at Curitiba

Yvan Muller bounced back from the disappointment of losing the 2007 WTCC to win the first round of 2008. But it looks like being another year of tiresome political wrangling over how competitive the cars are. The turbo diesel-powered Seat Leons were able to cruise away easily from the petrol BMWs on the straights. Seat […]

New rumours say Ron Dennis to quit this week

The Sunday Times claims Ron Dennis will hand over the role of chief executive at McLaren to Martin Whitmarsh this week. According the newspaper Dennis had planned to relinquish his role in the team at the end of 2007 but postponed the change because of the espionage affair. The story alleges Dennis’s decision to step […]

2008: Scuderia Toro Rosso

Toro Rosso are supposed to be using the same car as sister team Red Bull this year, as they did last year. But they’re having to wait until later in 2008 to get their hands on the new car, even though Red Bull got the latest model earlier than they did in 2007. Are Red […]