Sealed with a win

Posted on | Author Keith Collantine

Michael Schumacher, Ferrari, Magny-Cours, 2002Plenty has been written about the points system change that was made in Formula One three years ago. The most obvious and compelling criticism is that giving eight points for second compared to ten for a win means there is too little reward for pushing for a win.

An interesting piece of evidence of this is that none of the championships since 2002 – the last time the old system was used – have been taken with a win. From 1998 to 2002, every champion won the race that made him champion. But it hasn’t happened since.

Could Sunday’s championship decider at the Interlagos change that? You certainly couldn’t blame Fernando Alonso for taking it comparatively easily. He only needs one point – eighth place (that would have been sixth in 2002). On the other hand championship rival Michael Schumacher can only win the title if he wins the race.

Related links

Tags: / / /

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

All comments are moderated. See the Comment Policy and FAQ for more.
If the person you're replying to is a registered user you can notify them of your reply using '@username'.