Buemi handed Sentul trophy by stewards

Posted on | Author Keith Collantine

I expected the stewards to get involved after today’s GP2 Asia race, and they did, but not for the reasons I was expecting!

As I suspected Luca Filippi lost his win but it was for having his team mate’s tyres fitted to his car, not for completing an extra lap at the end. Sebastien Buemi who finished second originally now inherits Filippi’s win.

I’m a bit surprised by this because two drivers in qualifying received grid penalties for completing extra laps after the chequered flag, so I though Filippi and Buemi might at least receive time penalties.

Filippi’s disqualification raises Ben Hanley to third giving him a well-deserved podium after a mature drive on his debut.

Fairuz Fauzy is promoted to eighth which gives him pole position for tomorrow’s sprint race, just as happened at Dubai when Fauzy profited from Buemi’s exclusion.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

All comments are moderated. See the Comment Policy and FAQ for more.
If the person you're replying to is a registered user you can notify them of your reply using '@username'.