Ex-Champ Car drivers shine at Edmonton (Indy Car)

Posted on | Author Keith Collantine

The former Champ Car drivers in the Indy Racing League have enjoyed their best qualifying session of the year at Edmonton. It’s the only time the IRL regulars and the ‘transition teams’ will compete together at an ex-Champ Car venue this year.

Penske duo Ryan Brisco and Helio Castroneves locked out the front row but seven of the next nine cars were from former Champ Car teams.

However Paul Tracy failed to shine on his return to racing. He set his best time after the session had ended, leaving him 16th of the 27 starters. Full grid below.

1. Ryan Briscoe
2. Helio Castroneves
3. Oriol Servia*
4. Scott Dixon
5. Will Power*
6. Justin Wilson*
7. Bruno Junqueira*
8. Graham Rahal*
9. Dan Wheldon
10. Mario Moraes*
11. Enrique Bernoldi*
12. Tony Kanaan
13. Marco Andretti
14. Ryan Hunter-Reay
15. Danica Patrick
16. Paul Tracy*
17. Vitor Meira
18. AJ Foyt IV
19. Darren Manning
20. Mario Dominguez*
21. Ernesto Viso*
22. Hideki Mutoh
23. Buddy Rice
24. Ed Carpenter
25. Townsend Bell
26. Marty Roth
27. Jaime Camara

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

All comments are moderated. See the Comment Policy and FAQ for more.
If the person you're replying to is a registered user you can notify them of your reply using '@username'.