Michael Schumacher, Nico Rosberg, Mercedes W196s, Nurburgring, 2011


Lewis Hamilton, Nico Rosberg, Mercedes, Yas Marina, 2014

Active years: 1954-1955, 2010-
Previous identities: BAR
(1999-2005), Honda
(2006-2008), Brawn (2009)

Find all F1 Fanatics who are fans
of Mercedes

Jump to:

Major team personnel


Mercedes can trace its motor racing involvement back to the pioneering days of the original Grands Prix at the start of the 20th century. In the years leading up to World War Two the German government pumped money into Mercedes and rivals Auto Union to build the most technically advanced racing machines the world had seen.

After the war it wasn’t until the mid-fifties that German teams were allowed to compete again. When Mercedes returned it picked up where it had left off. Juan Manuel Fangio moved to the team from Maserati part way through 1954 and won the world title.

Fangio won a second title when joined by Stirling Moss in 1955. But the team’s sports car effort was withdrawn from the Le Mans 24 Hours that year after one of its drivers, Pierre Levegh, crashed into the crowd. Levegh and over 80 spectators were killed. Mercedes withdrew from all motor racing competition and did not return until the 1980s.

It wasn’t until 1993 that the Mercedes name was seen again in F1, as an engine supplier to Sauber. It switched teams to McLaren and won championships with them in 1998, 1999 and 2008.

A last-minute deal to supply the Brawn team with engines in 2009 led to wins in both the drivers’ and constructors’ championships. It also paved the way for Mercedes to return to the sport as a full constructor in 2010 after it took over the team.

The team enticed Michael Schumacher back from retirement to drive for them but it was Nico Rosberg who scored their first comeback win in China in 2012.

Lewis Hamilton replaced Schumacher for the 2013 season, and the following year the wisdom of that move became clear. Mercedes prepared perfectly for F1’s new era of V6 hybrid turbo engines. In a 19-race campaign the team dominated the championship, taking 18 pole positions and 16 wins. Of those, 11 were scored by Hamilton, who also won his second drivers’ title.



1954 1955 1956 1957 1958 1959 1960 1961 1962 1963 1964 1965 1966 1967 1968 1969 1970 1971 1972 1973 1974 1975 1976 1977 1978 1979 1980 1981 1982 1983 1984 1985 1986 1987 1988 1989 1990 1991 1992 1993 1994 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014
Championship position 4 4 5 2 1
Points 214 165 142 360 701
Wins 4 5 0 0 1 3 16
Pole positions 4 4 0 0 1 8 18


View pictures of Mercedes F1 cars


Complete list of Mercedes F1 drivers


Mercedes Formula One Team,
United Kingdom,
NN13 7BD

Major team personnel

Executive director (technical): Paddy Lowe
Executive director (business): Toto Wolff
Non-executive chairman: Niki Lauda
Managing director of Mercedes AMG High Performance Powertrains: Andy Cowell
Technical director: Bob Bell
Engineering director: Aldo Costa
Technology director: Geoff Willis
Sporting director: Ron Meadows
Performance director: Mark Ellis
Chief engineer, simulation and development: Giles Wood
Chief mechanic: Matthew Deane
Chief race engineer: Andrew Shovlin
Chief track engineer: Simon Cole
Race engineer (Lewis Hamilton): Peter Bonnington
Race engineer (Nico Rosberg): Tony Ross
Performance engineer (Lewis Hamilton):
Performance engineer (Nico Rosberg): Riccardo Musconi

Mercedes featured articles

Mercedes latest articles

2014 F1 season

Browse all Mercedes articles