'Equal' teams from 2011 grid

This topic contains 6 replies, has 7 voices, and was last updated by  Kingshark 6 years, 5 months ago.

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
  • #129291


    If u were to swap and change the current crop of drivers to put them in different cars to create a equal grid, how would u do this?

    ie: Mclaren- Liuzzi/Kathrekayen

    Red Bull- Maldonado/D’ambrosio

    Sauber- Hamilton/Vettel

    Hispana- No driver could equal this to a Mclaren! :)

    You get the point!


    Ned Flanders

    I see what you’re trying to do, but in reality I imagine swapping the drivers around would do very little to change form. The difference between good and bad cars is seconds- the difference between good and bad drivers, I imagine, is only a few tenths.

    But it is an interesting thought. I suppose the closest we got to finding the answer was the 2009 season, when lots of the best drivers were in the midefield or lower. Remember Silverstone, with Hamilton, Alonso and Kubica fighting over about 14th! That was for the most part a tepid race, yet I have fond memories of it for that one battle!

    Anyway, I’m going off topic. I suspect if you put Maldonado and Ambrosia in a Red Bull they’d be winning races by the mid season, and if you put Hamilton and Vettel in a Lotus they’d struggle to score points



    It would never be possible to negate the difference between a Red Bull and an HRT, but just for fun.. here goes –

    1) Red Bull – Karthikeyan & Maldonado

    2) Mclaren – D’Ambrosio & Liuzzi

    3) Ferrari – Barrichello & Trulli

    4) Renault – Alguersuari & Schumacher

    5) Mercedes – Glock & Buemi

    6) Sauber – Petrov & Perez

    7) Force India – Kobayashi & Kovalainen

    8) Toro Rosso – Di Resta & Sutil

    9) Williams – Webber & Massa

    10) Lotus – Rosberg & Button

    11) Virgin – Kubica & Vettel

    12) HRT – Alonso & Hamilton



    @Todford, I think Barrichello is faster than you credit him. He did beat The Stig you know!



    I agree with Ned. Afterall, these are world class drivers. Even a ‘bad’ driver, say, Luca Bodoer is a phenomenal talent if up against a layman. So the difference between a Red Bull and an HRT may be 6/7 seconds. However, the difference between Vettel and Karthikeyan may be only a second. Swapping around the grid and there might be a difference, but it probably wouldn’t be too obvious.



    This would be the 2011 entry list if after 2010 the drivers re-arranged in the teams that are listed in the order of the 2010 Championship but the teams’ strength is the one I think is the one of 2011 (Red Bull, McLaren, Ferrari, Mercedes, Renault, Sauber, Force India, Toro Rosso, Williams, Lotus, Virgin, HRT).


    1. Sebastian Vettel

    2. Robert Kubica

    Red Bull

    3. Narain Karthikeyan

    4. Pastor Maldonado


    5. Jerome D’Ambrosio

    6. Jaime Alguersuari


    7. Sebastien Buemi

    8. Timo Glock


    9. Vitantonio Liuzzi

    10. Heikki Kovalainen


    11. Kamui Kobayashi

    12. Jarno Trulli


    14. Mark Webber

    15. Jenson Button

    Force India

    16. Vitaly Petrov

    17. Adrian Sutil


    18. Rubens Barrichello

    19. Michael Schumacher

    Toro Rosso

    20. Sergio Perez

    21. Paul Di Resta


    22. Felipe Massa

    23. Nico Rosberg


    24. Fernando Alonso

    25. Lewis Hamilton



    I’m using the 2010 grid, with drivers in 2010 form:

    Red Bull: Bruno Senna – Lucas Di Grassi

    Mclaren: Tonio Liuzzi – De La Rosa

    Ferrari: Karun Chandhok – Vitaly Petrov

    Mercedes: Jarno Trulli – Buemi

    Renault: Alguesauri – Glock

    Williams: Hulkenburg – Kovelainen

    Force India: Sutil – Kobayashi

    Sauber: Barrichello – Schumacher

    Torro Rosso: Massa – Webber

    Lotus: Rosberg – Button

    Virgin: Vettel – Kubica

    Hispania: Alonso – Hamilton

    That’s about as close as it can be, I think Petrov would be champion :D

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)

You must be logged in to reply to this topic.