Going to the British Grand Prix at Silverstone

I’m an F1 newbie and going to Silverstone for the 1st time – in need of guidance!

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    Estesark
    Participant

Continued from previous topic.

Original post by Kelly Bennett:

Hi, Ive just booked up for this year F1 meet at silverstone got a 3day pass with camping for my boyfs bday present!!!! (he better love it!!). I cant believe what Ive been missing out on as Ive only sat n watched a race this year for the first time!!!!

Weve got seats in the Becketts grandstand- I havent got the foggiest about wheres the best place to get seats so hopefully Ive ‘done- good’???

Weve also got tickets to camp in the lively area of Silverstone woodlands and have heard that people are queuing up at 4am on the wednesday to get electric hook-ups- we certainly wont be having electric then!!
    Will we still get tent space if we go early friday morning?? or should we go earlier??

Can you go say Wednesday evening pitch your tent then come home n go back friday morning? Or if we did that would we loose the car space next to the tent??

Does everyone just pitch there tent anywhere or is there like a grid system??

Many thanks for your help!!!

Kelly b

@kellyb You”l find this thread useful:

First race tips

Mick
    Participant

Kelly
    I’ve been going to Silverstone for 10 years plus and youre going to have a great time. The Becketts grandstand is good, you will have some great views right across the track. I am also camping with my son at the same place as you. It does get really busy but you will still get in on Friday (although it has been getting busier year on year). If you want electricity you would have to turn up Wed fairly soon after it opens, so like you i dont bother. We usually turn up Thur lunch time and this has always been ok to get a good spot.
    If you need any other info just ask.

Steve hodger
    Participant