Your questions: McLaren’s numbers in 2008?

Posted on | Author Keith Collantine

McLaren #1, 2007Richard C wrote in to ask:

Can you clarify – as a result of McLaren being barred from this years championship what numbers will they be allocated next year?

And which garages will they be allocated?

Read on for the answer.

Had Lewis Hamilton or Fernando Alonso won the world championship this year, McLaren would have had car numbers 1 and 2 in 2008, for the first time since 2000.

But as that hasn’t happened (appeal permitting) McLaren will instead have their highest numbers pairing since 1990.

Having been stripped of their constructors’ championship points, which determines what numbers they use, McLaren ended the year last and so would expect to take over Super Aguri’s 2007 numbers 22 and 23.

If Prodrive do race next year then as a new team they will probably have to use higher numbers – 24 and 25.

In 1990 McLaren used numbers 27 and 28. This was before the days when championship position determined car numbers for the following year. In 1989 McLaren driver Alain Prost won the world championship, then moved to Ferrari meaning the Italian team used numbers 1 and 2, so McLaren took over their usual numbers of 27 and 28.

Got an F1 question that needs answering? Send it in.

Related links