2009 Monaco Grand Prix facts and stats

Posted on | Author Keith Collantine

The last driver to score a hat-trick of wins was Michael Schumacher in 2006
The last driver to score a hat-trick of wins was Michael Schumacher in 2006

Jenson Button completes a hat-trick of wins with his triumph in the Monaco Grand Prix – the first time this has been done in three years.

It was the second-fastest Monaco Grand Prix of all time and te first time a driver has won three consecutive races with the same engine.

Here’s more facts and stats from the Monaco Grand Prix.

Jenson Button continues to pile on the victories – he’s now racked up six, giving him as many as Tony Brooks, John Surtees, Jochen Rindt, Gilles Villeneuve, Jacques Laffite, Riccardo Patrese and Button’s 2000 team mate Ralf Schumacher.

He’s won five of the first six races this year, giving him one of the best ever starts to a championship campaign. Much more on that here: Button closes on ??best start? record

He also matched Jacques Laffite’s pole position tally of seven.

Button became the first British driver to win three consecutive races since Damon Hill, when he won four in a row from 1995 to 1996. Those were in Australia (twice), Brazil and Argentina.

It is the first time any driver has scored a hat-trick since Michael Schumacher won the American, French and German Grands Prix in 2006.

Fastest lap went to Felipe Massa, the first for Ferrari in 2009. It was Massa’s 12th, giving him as many as Alberto Ascari, Jack Brabham, Ren?? Arnoux and Juan Pablo Montoya.

Brawn now have 86 points, more than twice as many as any other team. They scored their third one-two, meaning they now have more than Renault.

Mark Webber passed Jack Brabham as the Australian driver to have started the most races, reaching 127. More on how their careers compare here: Spanish Grand Prix facts and stats

BMW posted their worst ever qualifying performance with 16th and 17th. There previous worst was when Nick Heidfeld and Jacques Villeneuve lined up tenth and 22nd respectively for the Spanish Grand Prix in 2006.

Lewis Hamilton started from his lowest ever grid position: 19th.

Mercedes had the same V8 engine win three races in a row. It was also the third consecutive win for a Mercedes-engined car in Monte-Carlo.

With no safety car interruptions, this was the second shortest Monaco Grand Prix that reached full distance, and the third shortest of all time:

Shortest Monaco Grands Prix

1. 1984 Monaco Grand Prix – Alain Prost, McLaren-TAG in 1hr 1’07.740 (Stopped after 31 of 77 laps)
2. 2007 Monaco Grand Prix – Fernando Alonso, McLaren-Mercedes in 1hr 40’29.329 (78 laps)
3. 2009 Monaco Grand Prix – Jenson Button, Brawn-Mercedes in 1hr 40’44.282 (78 laps)

Only the 2007 race was completed at a higher average speed – 155.551kph (96.65mph) compared to 155.166kph this year (96.41mph).

Spotted any other interesting statistics and facts form the Monaco Grand Prix? Post them below…