Malaysian GP team-by-team: Sauber

Posted on | Author Keith Collantine

It was a wasted race for Sauber after similar problems on both their cars.

Pedro de la Rosa Kamui Kobayashi
Qualifying position 12 9
Qualifying time comparison (Q2) 1’48.771 (+0.979) 1’47.792
Race position
Average race lap 1’44.954
Laps 0/56
Pit stops 0 0
Malaysian GP lap times - Sauber
Malaysian GP lap times - Sauber (click to enlarge)

Pedro de la Rosa

Failed to reach Q3 and qualified 12th. Stopped on his way to the grid when a problem with the pneumatic system caused an engine failure.

Compare Pedro de la Rosa’s form against his team mate in 2010

Kamui Kobayashi

Reached Q3 for the first time this year, beating de la Rosa by almost a second in the wet Q2.

He qualified ninth – just five hundredths of a second slower than Michael Schumacher – and ran tenth at the start before being passed by Lewis Hamilton. He suffered the same failure as de la Rosa shortly afterwards.

Compare Kamui Kobayashi’s form against his team mate in 2010