Fernando Alonso, Ferrari, Valencia, 2012

Fernando Alonso voted F1 Fanatic Driver of the Year

2012 F1 season reviewPosted on | Author Keith Collantine

Fernando Alonso, Ferrari, Valencia, 2012F1 Fanatic readers voted world championship runner-up Fernando Alonso as the best driver of the 2012 season.

Alonso won half of all the votes that were cast. Second place went to Lewis Hamilton followed by world champion Sebastian Vettel and Kimi Raikkonen.

This meant the top four drivers reflected the four I chose in my rankings of the drivers.

Recent winners

2012 F1 Fanatic Driver Rankings

Pass of the Year: Kimi Raikkonen on Michael Schumacher

Kimi Raikkonen’s overtaking move on Michael Schumacher during the Brazilian Grand Prix was voted the best pass of 2012.

Another pass involving the same two drivers in the Belgian Grand Prix received the second-largest number of votes. The move was similar to Mark Webber’s pass on Fernando Alonso which won last year’s vote.

The third most popular pass was Felipe Massa’s on Bruno Senna during the Singapore Grand Prix.

Recent winners

Overtaker of the Year: Kimi Raikkonen

Raikkonen was also voted the best overtaker of 2012, with 40% of the votes. He was followed by Alonso (18%) and then Vettel (14%), with Hamilton (14%) close behind.

Recent winners

2012 F1 season review

Browse all 2012 F1 season review articles

Image ?? Ferrari spa/Ercole Colombo