Race winners could get 25 points in 2010

Button would stay champion under the new system - with 230.5 points

Button would stay champion under the new system - with 230.5 points

The FIA will vote tomorrow on a new points system for F1 proposed by the re-formed F1 Commission. The change looks radical on the surface with a winner getting 25 points instead of ten.

But on closer inspection the new points system will probably make little difference at all and only act to encourage drivers to settle for a lower position instead of trying to move up a place.

What do you think of the proposed new points system?

  • It's an improvement over the current one (35%)
  • It doesn't make much difference (31%)
  • It's worse than the current one (35%)

Total Voters: 1,795

Loading ... Loading ...

If it had been applied in 2009 the most significant change would have been moving Jarno Trulli up to seventh in place of Nico Rosberg.

The extension of points to cover ninth and tenth places means non-scorers Nelson Piquet Jnr and Kazuki Nakajima would have picked up points.

Proposed 2010 F1 points system

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Proposed 2010 points 25 20 15 10 8 6 5 3 2 1
Points as % of a race win 100 80 60 40 32 24 20 12 8 4
Current points 10 8 6 5 4 3 2 1
Points as % of a race win 100 80 60 50 40 30 20 10

The present points system, introduced in 2003, was criticised for making second and third place finishes more valuable compared to winning.

As the table above shows under the new system the difference between finishing second or third compared to winning remains proportionally the same. Second place still gives 80% of the points for finishing second, and third gives 60%.

It appears to be another attempt to ensure championships are decided as late in the season as possible, as it will be harder for a driver to amass a 25-point lead of a rival when you get ten points just for finishing fourth.

It is opposite in philosophy to the system FOTA suggested last year (12-9-7-5-4-3-2-1) which would have increased the relative value of a win.

What is truly strange about the proposed points system is that seventh place would be worth five points which is two more than eighth but one less than sixth. Surely it would make more sense for seventh place to be worth four points?

I’m not convinced by the perceived need to keep the championship alive until the last stages of the year. A good race is a good race regardless of whether the championship is it stake or not. One of the most popular races of the last ten years was the 2005 Japanese Grand Prix, after that year’s drivers’ title had already been decided.

I do think it’s worth extending the points further so that F1’s increased number of teams next year will have a greater chance of scoring points, making it easier for us to differentiate between their performance over a season.

On the other hand a driver who only needs a point to win the championship can go into the final round aiming to finish tenth.

I still feel wins are seriously under-valued by the present points system. If tenth place is worth a point, a win should be more like 50.

What do you think of the proposed change to the F1 points system?

Update: FIA confirms new points system in 2010

2009 F1 points under the new 2010 system

Pos Driver Points
1 Jenson Button 230.5
2 Sebastian Vettel 203
3 Rubens Barrichello 183
4 Mark Webber 175
5 Lewis Hamilton 120.5
6 Kimi Raikkonen 119
7 Jarno Trulli 78
8 Nico Rosberg 75.5
9 Timo Glock 63.5
10 Fernando Alonso 62
11 Felipe Massa 48
12 Heikki Kovalainen 46
13 Nick Heidfeld 44
13 Robert Kubica 44
15 Giancarlo Fisichella 26
16 Sebastien Buemi 16
17 Adrian Sutil 13
18 Kamui Kobayashi 8
19 Sebastien Bourdais 6.5
20 Kazuki Nakajima 5
21 Nelson Piquet Jnr 1
22 Jaime Alguersuari 0
22 Luca Badoer 0
22 Romain Grosjean 0
22 Vitantonio Liuzzi 0

Actual 2009 F1 points

Driver Points
1 Jenson Button 95
2 Sebastian Vettel 84
3 Rubens Barrichello 77
4 Mark Webber 69.5
5 Lewis Hamilton 49
6 Kimi Raikkonen 48
7 Nico Rosberg 34.5
8 Jarno Trulli 32.5
9 Fernando Alonso 26
10 Timo Glock 24
11 Heikki Kovalainen 22
12 Felipe Massa 22
13 Nick Heidfeld 19
14 Robert Kubica 17
15 Giancarlo Fisichella 8
16 Sebastien Buemi 6
17 Adrian Sutil 5
18 Kamui Kobayashi 3
19 Sebastien Bourdais 2
20 Romain Grosjean 0
20 Vitantonio Liuzzi 0
20 Jaime Alguersuari 0
20 Kazuki Nakajima 0
20 Luca Badoer 0
20 Nelson Piquet Jnr 0

Read more: Final 2009 F1 championship standings

Image (C) Brawn GP

Advert | Go Ad-free


135 comments on Race winners could get 25 points in 2010

1 4 5 6
  1. David Watkins said on 11th December 2009, 22:22


    K Raikkonen 271
    L Hamilton 270
    F Alonso 268
    F Massa 228
    N Heidfeld 130
    R Kubica 83
    H Kovalainen 76
    G Fisichella 51
    N Rosberg 47
    A Wurz 33
    M Webber 33
    D Coulthard 32
    J Trulli 22
    J Button 15
    R Schumacher 14
    S Vettel 13
    T Sato 9
    V Liuzzi 8
    R Barrichello 6
    A Sutil 3
    S Speed 2
    K Nakajima 1

  2. i think that fia should make the following:
    15,10,8,7,6,5,4,3,2,1 this way they make 10 drivers points and make great difference between winner and 2nd.

  3. Michael K. Winnipeg, Canada said on 12th December 2009, 22:37

    This is a nice improvment for the points.
    I agree 7th place should get only 4 points and not 5 points. Here is my idea for the points:


  4. Andrew said on 13th December 2009, 3:48

    It should be something like:
    100% 75% 50% 25% 20% 15% 10% 8% 6% 4% 2%
    If they really want to extend the points to lower scoring teams.

  5. Zanardi said on 22nd December 2009, 11:02

    Point are points and changing them is just a part of the show

  6. Why not give the winner 100 points and everyone else who finishes [100 * winner’s race time / that driver’s own race time]. This way the points awarded to each driver would be commensurate with his final position and races should be less “spread out”, more competitive.

  7. keith collantine, i’m afraid your math is incorrect. when you look at percentages you should look at the points of the finishing position as a percentage of the total number of points available for each race. what they’ve done 25,20,15,10,8,6,5,3,2,1 is actually brilliant. the percentage changes from 1st down to 8th compared to the previous points system are +0.7%, +0.5%, +0.4%, -2.3%, -1.8%, -1.4%, +0.1%, +0.6%. this tells you that drivers are encouraged to gun for the 1st place followed by 2nd and 3rd and heavily discouraged from settling for 4th to 6th. 7th position is indifferent from the previous system while 8th is encouraged over 9th and 10th.

  8. mad monk said on 3rd February 2010, 8:10

    Why not follow the champ car example and give additional driver points to the driver who achieves pole position and also to the driver who achieves the fastest lap during the race.

  9. Disgracefully bad points system..

    Anyone with a brain can tell that the best points system
    would be:

    Top 10

    Top 10 would be (16,12,09) . ( 7, 6,5,4,3,2,1)


    Sadly nobody at the FIA has a brain.

  10. Michael said on 14th March 2010, 23:40

    To be truly contentious, how about 1 point per finishing
    position based on number of finishers. 20 finishers,
    20 points for a win, minus 1 through the field, and so on.
    Remember Indy some years ago. Six cars ran, six cars
    finished. The win meant nothing and the points should
    have reflected that.

1 4 5 6

Add your comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

All comments must abide by the comment policy. Comments may be moderated.
Want to post off-topic? Head to the forum.
See the FAQ for more information.