Sebastian Vettel, Red Bull, Yas Marina, 2010

Waiting to win: When each F1 driver last won a race

2011 F1 season previewPosted on | Author Keith Collantine

Sebastian Vettel, Red Bull, Yas Marina, 2010
Sebastian Vettel, Red Bull, Yas Marina, 2010

Racing drivers live to win. But when they reach the pinnacle of the sport they face the best of their peers in the fastest cars – and the wait between victories can be a long one.

For one driver on the 2011 grid it’s been well over a decade since his last win in a major international race.

Cast your eye on the list below to see who’s been waiting longest for their next taste of success.

Red Bull

Sebastian Vettel

2010 Abu Dhabi Grand Prix
Red Bull-Renault RB6
10.162s ahead of Lewis Hamilton

Mark Webber

2010 Hungarian Grand Prix
Red Bull-Renault RB6
17.821s ahead of Fernando Alonso


Lewis Hamilton

2010 Belgian Grand Prix
McLaren-Mercedes MP4-25
1.571s ahead of Mark Webber

Jenson Button

2010 Chinese Grand Prix
McLaren-Mercedes MP4-25
1.53s ahead of Lewis Hamilton


Fernando Alonso

2010 Korean Grand Prix
Ferrari F10
14.999s ahead of Lewis Hamilton

Felipe Massa

2008 Brazilian Grand Prix
Ferrari F2008
13.298s ahead of Fernando Alonso


Michael Schumacher

2006 Chinese Grand Prix
Ferrari 248 F1
3.121s ahead of Fernando Alonso

Nico Rosberg

2005 GP2 Bahrain Sprint Race
ART GP2 Dallara
8.335s ahead of Ernesto Viso


Nick Heidfeld

1999 F3000 A1-Ring
West Competition Team Lola B99/50
8.957s ahead of Soheil Ayari

Vitaly Petrov

2009 GP2 Valencia feature race
Barwa Addax Dallara GP2-08
0.396s ahead of Nico H???lkenberg

Robert Kubica

2008 Canadian Grand Prix
BMW F1.08
16.495s ahead of Nick Heidfeld

NB. Not starting the season due to injury


Rubens Barrichello

2009 Italian Grand Prix
Brawn BGP-001
2.866s ahead of Jenson Button

Pastor Maldonado

2010 GP2 Spa-Francorchamps feature race
Rapax Dallara GP2-08
0.243s ahead of Alvaro Parente

Force India

Adrian Sutil

2006 Japanese F3, Fuji Speedway (fourth race)
TOM?s Dallara F305-Toyota
2.491s ahead of Kazuya Oshima

Paul di Resta

2010 DTM Hockenheimring (second race)
Mercedes C-Klasse 09
10.532s ahead of Timo Scheider


Kamui Kobayashi

2008 GP2 Barcelona sprint race
DAMS Dallara GP2-08
1.176s ahead of Sebastien Buemi

Sergio Perez

2010 GP2 Abu Dhabi feature race
Barwa Addax Dallara GP2-08
21.065s ahead of Oliver Turvey

Toro Rosso

Sebastien Buemi

2008 GP2 Hungaroring Sprint Race
Arden GP2 Dallara
7.978s ahead of Andy Soucek

Jaime Alguersuari

2009 Formula Renault 3.5 Portugal (second race)
Carlin Dallara FR35
1.448s ahead of Charles Pic


Jarno Trulli

2004 Monaco Grand Prix
0.497s ahead of Jenson Button

Heikki Kovalainen

2008 Hungarian Grand Prix
11.061s ahead of Timo Glock


Narain Karthikeyan

2010 Superleague Formula Brands Hatch (second race)
PSV Eindhoven Panoz DP09B
12.736s ahead of Davide Rigon

Vitantonio Liuzzi

2008-09 Speedcar Series Bahrain (fourth race)
UP Team Speedcar 6.0 V8
3.453s ahead of Thomas Biagi


Timo Glock

2007 GP2 Valencia Ricardo Tormo Sprint Race
iSport GP2 Dallara
5.474s ahead of Javier Villa

Jerome d’Ambrosio

2010 GP2 Monaco sprint race
DAMS Dallara GP2-08
0.351s ahead of Giedo van der Garde

2011 F1 season preview

Browse all 2011 F1 season preview articles

Image ?? Bridgestone/Ercole Colombo

98 comments on “Waiting to win: When each F1 driver last won a race”

Jump to comment page: 1 2
  1. For me, these statistics justify teams opting for young talent over more experienced midfield drivers.
    young drivers who are used to winning in lower formulae are surely much more likely to have the killer instinct and winning mentality than Heidfeld or Rosberg. Especially with the big changes of rules, everyone starts on a level playing field. For these reasons I think the rookies and more recent winners will have a relatively strong year.

    1. I disagree. The hunger for winning doesn’t go anywhere and the experience can’t be bought for any amount of money, as Hulkenberg found out last season, for example. And about “killer instinct”, it’s easier to remember something you’ve forgotten than to learn something new(see the case of Button in 2009).

    2. young drivers who are used to winning in lower formulae are surely much more likely to have the killer instinct and winning mentality than Heidfeld or Rosberg.

      Rosberg is a young driver who was used to winning in lower formulae. So what are you on about?

  2. Got to feel for old Heidfeld

  3. narain actually won a race! amazing

    1. He has won a whole bunch of races in junior formulae before 2005, so how’s that a surprise?

  4. Great list and quite a depressing read for some of them.

  5. Makes you wonder which drivers has made it into, through, and out of F1 with the fewest number of race wins in their career. There must be a fair few drivers with only a handful of career wins to their name.

    1. Kimi did 23 races in total before going into F1, of those 23 he won 13

  6. I don’t about you guys, but MSC will win atleast one race this year. I guess atleast in one race the car, tyres & the strategy will come together !

  7. I laughed out loud when I saw Heifeld’s…

  8. It’s been 12 years for Heidfeld? I feel sad.

  9. Keith, if you have time putting the number of races since their last win would be interesting too, taking into account things like Schuey’s retirement.

  10. strictly commercial
    18th March 2011, 9:09

    Hasn’t Schumacher won a couple ROC’s in the recent years? (I do get why one wouldn’t consider them as proper races though.)

  11. At the bottom of this page. There are links to every race in 2011, every team in in 2011 and every driver bar D’Ambrosio in 2011.
    Why is that?

Jump to comment page: 1 2

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

All comments are moderated. See the Comment Policy and FAQ for more.