Brawn win 2009 F1 constructors’ title

The Brawn team at Sepang this year

The Brawn team at Sepang this year

Brawn have won the 2009 F1 constructors’ championship.

Heading into the penultimate race it was a virtual certainty they would beat Red Bull to the crown, as their rivals needed a pair of one-twos from the final race with Brawn not scoring.

Although Mark Webber won the race for Red Bull, both Brawns came home in the points to claims the championship.

The Brackley squad was formed in 1999 as BAR, and was taken over by Honda in 2006. Jenson Button scored the team’s first race win at the Hungaroring that year.

But two disastrous seasons followed and Honda pulled the plug on its F1 operation in the winter of 2008. Many staff, some of whom joined the team when it was founded, feared for the future of their jobs. Now they are world champions.

For months the future of the team was in serious doubt and only an 11th-hour deal allowed the team to carry on, now bearing the name of team principal Ross Brawn.

He must have suspected that their BGP001, which was originally to be the Honda RA109, would have a good turn of speed. But having to ditch the weak Honda power plant and replace it with a more powerful Mercedes, allied to the quick out-of-the-box car allowed the team to dominate the opening rounds of the championship.

Eventually the opposition began to catch up, particularly once the controversial ‘double-diffuser’ pioneered by Brawn and two other teams was confirmed legal by the FIA. Red Bull led the charge, but they simply weren’t quick enough or reliable enough (Brawn have had no mechanical DNFs) to mount beat them.

Their success has helped put the team on a more secure footing. Mercedes are now expected to take a majority stake in the company within the next three years, which is excellent new for Brawn’s long-term future.

Brawn take the title from Ferrari, who scored their record 16th constructors?σΤιΌΤδσ title last year.

The British team is the 13th different outfit to win the constructors’ championship:

Team Titles
Ferrari 16
Williams 9
McLaren 8
Lotus 7
Cooper, Brabham and Renault 2
Vanwall, BRM, Matra, Tyrrell, Benetton, Brawn 1

Read more about Brawn GP

2009 Brazilian Grand Prix

Advert | Go Ad-free


27 comments on Brawn win 2009 F1 constructors’ title

  1. Journeyer said on 19th October 2009, 13:45

    I’m pleased Button is WDC, but I’m ecstatic Brawn is WCC. The work they did this winter is nothing short of extraordinary.

    Ross Brawn has now won titles in 3 different environments – and he won this one without a Schumi in sight. ;)

    Ross is an utter genius – I rank him now on the same level as Colin Chapman, maybe even ahead of Colin! And knowing what Colin’s done, that says a lot!

  2. Is Brawn officially a privateer/customer team? If so does anyone know the last time one won a championship?

  3. wasiF1 said on 20th October 2009, 8:57

    What will be HONDA thinking now?
    May be the Honda engine may not be a as powerful as Mercedes but they could have finished on top 3

Add your comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

All comments must abide by the comment policy. Comments may be moderated.
Want to post off-topic? Head to the forum.
See the FAQ for more information.